Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I'm just learning to bake, and this was one of the first recipes I tried. While baking, the entire house smells like Christmas! I brought them in to work and everyone wondered where I learned how to bake so well and wanted the recipe. I always take them out about one minute prior to being done and let them continue to bake on the cookie sheet out of the oven, then sprinkle with a little extra sugar before moving to wax paper to finish cooling. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
A keeper. It definitely helps to chill the dough for a bit. Don't overbake: just barely done is what you want. Don't be afraid to be generous with the spices. Addictive...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Loathing the dry grocery-store ginger snaps always around the house when I was young, I thought I hated ginger cookies... Until this recipe. These cookies are soft and chewy and have an absolute exquisite balance of flavors. As others have said, though, it's good to let the dough chill for awhile otherwise getting them on the cookie sheet is a HUGE mess. I bet they'd bake the same with dough at room temperature but if you can spare yourself the fuss, why not? A hard lesson for me with this recipe is to watch them very, very closely in the oven... there's less than a minute between perfect and inedibly hard, and the difference is very subtle. You'll have to start pulling them out and giving them a good look every minute or so toward the end of baking. If you time it right, though, these are pretty much the best thing ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
YUMLY!!! These are really easy cookies and the taste is just wonderful....a bit of crunch, soft center and just enough spice. Here are a few things I did to slightly tweek this good recipe: 1. Used all butter instead of margarine 2. Used 1/2c white and 1/2c brown sugar 3. Used orange juice instead of water (as others have) 4. Used about 1/8t more ginger (I like a strong ginger flavor) 5. Put batter in fridge 1 hour before rolling and in between batches 6. Used a melon baller to scoop out the batter, rolled quickly, lightly pressed and dipped tops only in sugar 7. Used parchment paper on my cookie sheet 8. Baked for 8 1/2 minutes Easy and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
WOW! These are amazing! Where ever i bring them they are gone within minuets! Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thelittlebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Fantastic! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Yum!! Could have skipped the sugar coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I am about to make these cookies for the third time in the past two weeks - this time for Thanksgiving! They really are wonderful. My sister, husband and I all decided that we like them better crispy - more like a gingersnap. We just cook them for a little longer. So good either way though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I just thunk it needs a little extra molasses to make them have that bit of a perk up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This recipe was wonderful! Due to my own preferences, I put in 1 tablespoon of cinnamon instead of 3/4 of a teaspoon and the cookie still turned out great! Definitely perfect for late fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking.kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 3,675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States