Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
A great recipe! I doubled the recipe for an office cookie exchange, and made a few changes (listed below, for the doubled recipe) 1 1/2 tsp fresh ground or grated ginger An additional egg white A few tablespoons more flour. I would have used 2 - 2 1/2 tsp of ginger, and a whole egg extra. The flour is just to balance the extra wet ingredients. The dough is very delicate - I let my dough chill in the fridge for about 45 minutes, but that wasn't enough to chill the whole batch. Two hours is probably enough. This probably could be turned into gingerbread mini cupcakes by simply scooping the dough into a room temp pan and baking them. It's been almost a week since I made them, and they are still soft and melt In your mouth tender. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, but did follow the advice of other reviewers and refrigerated the dough for an hour. This came out great - I had to make another batch two days later because they were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Delish! I made them smaller, about half dollar size and the were soft and good. A good complement to my Christmas cookie collection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Four stars as written with the water, five stars if you swap water for orange juice as other reviewers have suggested. Keep an eye on these while baking because its not as easy to tell when they are done. Overall delicious cookies and a welcome addition to my Christmas cookie platter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My new favorite cookie recipe!!!!! I could not keep my hands off of them. Made them for Christmas instead of gingerbread men and I'm glad I did. I added 1/2 cup of light brown sugar to the dough and they came out perfect! Will make again and again. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
These were great and they were actually soft! Instead of 3/4 cup margarine, I did 2 sticks of butter the first time. They flattened out a little bit more that way, which was good because then they got the cracks on the top. I just remade it now with 3/4 cup butter and they aren't quite as flat. I notice the cooking time they suggest is way off though, I'm on 12 minutes now and they still are no where near ready yet. I have a new oven too, so it's not my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made these cookies for my equestrian friends. Humans and horses alike LOVED them!They remained soft and with the use of fresh ginger the taste was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
My mother and I just baked these. We made 8 dozen, and there is about ten left. haha. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
five stars! Next time I will use brown sugar. Has anyone tried adding choc chips to this? Molasses and Choc are a favorite combo and am just wondering how the presence of the chips would affect the soft puffiness of the cookie?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Great recipe. Mine didn't "fluff" as much as I thoughbut they were still delicious. Followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,838) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States