Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Photo by Toinette
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
poured mixture as whole to the tray then cut the trees, perfect shapes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe it's just they were good when I took them of the oven ,but when I cooled them and tried them they were as hard as rocks my family could not eat them without dipping them in milk till they were soft (I was not pleased because they were hard and the name of these cookies are big SOFT cookies) I can't rate tis recipe a lot because I could not eat them a lot if someone has advise please do share??. Other then that thy were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I really really loved this recipe. I found 8 minutes was perfect for soft cookies. 12 is better for more crispy cookies. I also used 1 teaspoon of ground ginger and 1 teaspoon of fresh minced ginger and it gave the cookies a stronger ginger flavor. I used the flat side of a meat mallet to flatten out the cookies. Thanks AMY1028!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
These cookies are delicious and easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I made these for my boyfriend yesterday. Now we're talking about a wedding. Coincidence, you say? You make these cookies, then decide. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Definately a refrigerator dough. No way you could roll it into balls as is. I left it in the freezer overnite and then took out one third of it at a time. The cookies were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made these for my family and they loved it. I accidentally burnt them on the edges but yet my siblings loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Oh, Maria, your stuffed breasts are wonderful. But I must confess, my dear. I did follow the lead of others who pounded and rolled them with your ricotta and spinach mixture. It just seemed to be the rational and natural thing to do. Forgive me for not following your instructions with full faithfulness. I hang my head. But even with my transgression, this was a delicious hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I didn't even read the ratings before making this recipe, but I knew before I started that I wanted them to taste like my favorite 'orange spice crackles'. Instead of the water I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of orange extract- next time I will increase that to 2 1/2 teaspoons. I love the orange flavor with the spices and I doubt the orange juice suggested by others would even make a difference. I used shortening (1/2 cup) plus goat milk butter (1/4 cup) due to a milk allergy and these came out perfectly. I didn't have any issues with needing to freeze or refrigerate the dough prior to rolling. I used turbinado sugar to roll the cookies in before placing on the cookie sheet. My husband said that the turbinado made these cookies. It gave them a crunch compared to the chewy texture of the cookie and a nice extra sweetness. These are much easier to make than the orange spice crackles I make at Christmas-and will become a regular at our house. Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made these cookies for a friend who said they hadn't had "soft ginger cookies" since they were a kid. I had never heard of them so of course I looked them up on all recipes.com. I made the cookies the first time exactly according to the recipe except using OJ in lieu of water. Everyone loved them. I then tried a few tweaks as wanted them just a bit chewier. I had stumbled across a gourmet sugar called Dark Muscavado Cane sugar( India Tree Gourmet spices , Seattle, WA from the island of Mauritus) . So I followed the above recipe except substituted the Dark Muscavado sugar for regular sugar, added a pinch of cardamom in addition to the spices listed, and added a teaspoon of apricot preserves hoping it would deliver the additional "chewiness" and avoid cracking. I did have to put the finished mixture in the freezer for a 1/2 hour in clear saran wrap to firm it up. Next time I will probably put the dough in the refrigerator overnight. I never used muscaovado cane sugar before and since it has a bit of molasses content in the cane sugar itself I think it enhanced the already delicious flavor of this great soft cookie ginger recipe. So glad this recipe was shared I will come back to it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 3,871) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States