Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I use a bit more cinnamon, FRESH ginger, and BUTTER!! But I will never try another recipe! Best EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellybeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Excellent recipe! My kids loved these cookies. They're a great alternative to gingerbread men. After several hours of refrigeration I rolled the dough into 1" balls, rolled them in white sugar, then placed on a cookie sheet. I baked them for 10 1/2 minutes; otherwise they were either too chewy or too hard. They're definitely a keeper on my annual Christmas cookie list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach Shores, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
A new family favorite!! my 14 y/o son made them & can't wait to make them again... this time the plan is to double it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Key to this recipe is FRESH spices. If your ginger is a year old, toss it & buy a new jar. I subbed 1/2 brown & 1/2 white sugar, 1/2 whole wheat & 1/2 white flour, and orange juice for the water (no discernible orange flavor in my opinion), and refrigerated the dough. I made them relatively small and got 4 dozen delicious cookies. These will be a staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandyisyouragent
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I read most of the reviews and substituted OJ instead of water. I omitted 1/4 c. sugar because when I dropped the balls into the sugar and rolled them, it made them super sweet. It's easier to deal with if you let the dough sit a few minutes and just spoon it right into the sugar. Also, I did what most reviewers said and put the balls into the fridge for 10 min while oven heated. I only lightly patted them down (hardly at all) and they came out perfect. I did FULL teaspoon balls of dough and I actually had tons of extra cookies. They are smaller but perfect for cookie exchanges. 3 batches made 94 cookies for me and a few extra for tasting. I put the dough balls on paper plates and then made the batches on two dark non-stick pans at 8 min per pan with 2 min cooling then moved to rack. I added extra 1/4 tsp of ginger to last batch and they are a little more spicy (yum)! photo shows plated balls, pan balls slightly smashed, then finished cookie. They are really soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Oh my gosh!!! These are amazing. I made them exactly as the recipe stated. Addictive, but incredible taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
We just baked these dangerously delicious cookies and OMG there're so good. We added vanilla ice cream in between two cookies and we couldn't get enough. I do hope we can save some for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Carrasco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Walden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I made this recipe for my christmas baking and they were one of my favorites! The only alteration I made was using butter instead of margarine (I don't use margarine). You do need to squash them down a bit after rolling them into balls like it says in the recipe to get the best cookie shape. I missed this step on my first pan and had to squish them half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Maybe creamed the dough too much? It took too long to bake and felt undercooked for a long time. Needs around 14 mins baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This recipe is to die for...!!! I have diabetes, so I always cut the sugar content in half including the molasses. I don't ever use sugar substitutes...rather cut back on the real thing. My husband has never liked ginger cookies, but absolutely loves these. This ones a keeper...!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Granny52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 3,712) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States