Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These taste just like ginger snaps but are softer. Yummy! I did change one thing. I used butter instead of margarine. Using butter will eliminate the "sticky" feel prior to cooking and makes them easier to handle. If you want the crinkle top form into balls and just drop on cookie sheet after coating in sugar. They flatten out on their own and when they dry there is a very pretty authentic crinkle top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dasegalla
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is the most amazing Recipe! Easy & Delicious Make a Double Batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dasegalla

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Excellent recipe. Very easy, tasty, and truly stays soft after cooling. I made the recipe to the letter. Super easy and popular with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is perfection! Follow the directions exactly and you will have lovely, soft ginger cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I brought these to a party and people were actually asking for bags to take some home. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These have to be my favorite new cookie I tried this year. I rolled my cookie dough in very fine sugar. They were so simple to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I had high hope for these, but I will not make them again. I think I was expecting the chewy texture of a molasses crinkle cookie. I will try that one next time. These were fluffy, doughy cookies. I also expected a stronger molasses and spice taste. The worst part about these cookies was the process of making them. The dough was so wet that I had to put it in the fridge for at least an hour before trying to handle it. Even then it stuck to my hands when trying to roll it. It helped to coat my hands in sugar each time I rolled a new cookie. Finally, they looked nothing like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I've been making these cookies for over 13 years and they are delicious! The literally melt in your mouth and I have friends and family requesting them year after year! One tip for those having issues with the texture of the batter when it's time to roll the dough into balls: If you literally stir in the ingredients with a wooden spoon, your dough will come out firm and you'll have no problem rolling the dough into balls. If you're using a handheld mixer, the dough becomes so firm you'll have to switch from your mixer to a wooden spoon halfway through. (Trust me: I've burned up two motors with this recipe. It was totally worth it too!) I used to do this recipe entirely by hand or with the aid of a handheld mixer, but I got tendonitis and can no longer stir in the dry ingredients. Now I have to use a high grade mixer to complete this recipe. With professional style mixers becoming the norm in household kitchens these days, you'll find that most people are using a low setting on their Kitchenaid or Cuisinart instead of literally stirring in the ingredients the old fashioned way. This creates a tackier, looser dough that requires 30-60 min in the fridge to bring it back to a firmer consistency. If you want to save yourself some refrigeration time (which I no longer have the option of doing), take the bowl out from under the mixer, grab your wooden spoon and stir when the recipe says to stir. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I've made these for 3 years...it helps to cool the dough, but it's always going to be a little sticky. This year I rolled them smaller than usual and baked for 7 minutes. Perfect for a cookie tray, and well-balanced spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
My friend and I had some issues. The dough was way too runny, so we put it in the freezer for a bit. It was still runny, not ball shaped and ready to be rolled into sugar. The flavour of the cookies is good, but the texture and look is awful. I have had more luck with other gingerbread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 3,739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States