Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is the first time I have ever made Gingerbread cookies and this recipe was awesome. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Awesome cookies! Today was my first day making them. I read through many reviews first and took note of tips. Instead of water I used orange juice. I Sprayed the measuring cup with oil so the molasses would easily pour. And I cooled the dough in the freezer for a half hour. It was very easy to work with. I kept all of the ingredients and measurements the same other than the water. And I did exactly what the directions said. And I sifted the flour etc. I found that 8 -10 minutes wasn't enough baking time. Maybe it's my oven. 12 minutes is just right for my oven. They turned out very yummy. They have a Slight crisp on the outside and are chewy on the inside. And the flavor is just right. I made 30 cookies out of this recipe. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This recipe makes a soft, flavorful, delicious cooky. You'll have no problem with sticky fingers if you use chilled dough. Lightly flour the bottom of a glass before you flatten the cookies. For the liquid I used the orange liquor triple sec. I glazed the cookies as recommended by reviewer Michael J. Wild using triple sec for the liquid. The glaze didn't set 'til the next day so packing the cookies for a potluck was a bit of a problem. The next day they were perfect. Perhaps make and glaze them a day ahead if you're packing them for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
my batch called for 2 and a half eggs so i decided to put 2 eggs in it. strange enough, the second egg had 2 yolks in it so it might have changed the outcome of it because it came out extremely puffy. it was more like a cake and i am not complaining. it was the best ginger cookies i have ever eaten. the only problem is that it tastes mostly of molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I'm not usually a fan of gingerbread cookies but these were soft and the right amount of sugar and spice. I didn't have molasses and substituted maple syrup instead. Also, I used brown sugar instead of white. They turned out great. I used them to make reindeer cookies (M&Ms for eyes and nose, pretzels for antlers) and everyone LOVED them (except the small children because of the spice, but not many kids like gingerbread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These are the family's absolute favorite cookies regardless of the time of year! I always end up making two batches of them just to try and keep up with demand. ;) The only thing I did additional was pop the dough in the freezer for a few mins just to make it a little easier to roll. Other than as written - fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Just added a little milk/confectioners sugar icing and these were divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
After reading reviews I thought I would chime in with some advice about flat cookies. -use bread or unbleached flour. -use parchment paper -ALWAYS USE COLD DOUGH -NO dough on warm or hot cookie sheets -Using baking soda/powder that isn't fresh can make your cookies flunk, as can peeking at them by opening oven door repeatedly. -DO NOT over-mix in the creaming process. The friction WILL cause too much heat and flunk the cookies while baking. -If dough feels too "gooshy", add flour until it feels "springier". -During creaming, butter/margarine MUST BE COLD. -Adding even a "tad" too much of baking soda will flunk them. -And last...if doubling, tripling etc the recipe, you MUST measure ingredients by WEIGHT, not simply by doubling or tripling the original ingredients. VERY IMPORTANT. Fresh, well measured and cold ingredients will help all cookies to be better tasting and better looking. Hope this helped a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
So delicious and easy. They are softer version of ginger snaps. Single batch made @ 40. Cook them for 9- 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olympia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Made these with butter rather than margarine. Added 1/4 cup flour but you could refrigerate them instead. They are the best cookies! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 3,732) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States