Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I love ginger cookies and liked that molasses was added to this batter, too. These were very good and soft but came out flatter than the picture. I did not use margarine, I used butter but that shouldn't have affected them. I'm in high altitude and didn't see any specific directions. Maybe I need to research that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Tastes delicious! Batter was too gooey to roll so i put in fridge for 30 min and it was still gooey so i just spooned onto cookie sheet and sprinkled with sugar. They really spread out so leave enough room between them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Soft, spicy, delicious! I love this recipe. I add a little more ginger and chopped some of my candied ginger and threw that in as well. I ran out of white flour and substituted 3/4 cup whole wheat and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HearthCooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Excellent ginger cookie! My mother usually hates gingersnaps, and this is her new favorite. Used all butter and a little ground ginger in the cinnamon sugar to roll them. Just a little extra spice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Great, great recipe! I am a huge fan of ginger and these are too good, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Delicious! But it took me 4 times to figure out how to get the cookie I wanted (all using the same batch of dough) I used butter instead of margarine and increased the ground cloves to 1 teaspoon. I also combined everything in one bowl, combining wet ingredients first and then adding the dry so as to not have too much clean up. I then let it cool in the freezer for 30 minutes so the dough was easier to work with. I wanted a very specific looking cookie when I found this recipe - I wanted huge cookies with cracked tops. This is what I learned from the 4 batches I made - gently flatten with your finger tips if you want cracked tops - don't use the bottom of a glass. The more free air incorporated into the dough will help with cracking and using the bottom of a glass took too much of the air out of the dough. I also think that if you add a few small separate pieces of dough to the top of the cookie and just tap them on top - you will increase your chances of cracks. If you want big cookies - use a lot more than a walnut size as instructed. For my big cookies the dough ball was closer to a ping-pong ball in size. I flattened gently with my finger tips until they were approximately 2 inches in diameter and about 1/3-inch high. I did not dip in sugar. I upped the oven temperature to 380 degrees and baked for 9 minutes. I uploaded a picture showing all 4 batches I made - the 4th batch was the winner as far as looks go - but they all taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I really liked these. I was looking for a soft gingerbread cookie that I didn't have to roll out. I would have liked a little more spice, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Amazing cookies!! They turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My 9 year old and 11 year old made these. Very easy and super good! The first time we made them, we used softed margarine and it worked out perfectly. The second time I melted the margarine in the microwave and had to let the dough sit for about an hour before we could make the cookies as the dough was very sticky. I would recommend the first way. These were such a hit and we generally don't ever think of making gingerbread cookies. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 3,739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States