Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I saw they needed flattening after my first tray. FYI flatten slightly after placing in cookie sheet. Other than that I had no trouble making them and no messy gooey batter it was ready to roll just after mixing so my thoughts as to why others may have had a gooey mess is that perhaps their butter was warmer than room temperature. Great recipe I will make them again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
We substituted coconut oil for the butter and brown sugar for the white sugar. Upped the ginger to three teaspoons. Awesomeness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I added a 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and threw in about 3/4 cup crystallized ginger nibs that I had sitting around. I didn't even have to refrigerate the dough before I rolled out the balls, as others reviewers mentioned. My issue with this cookie is the margarine. There was an off-putting flavor from the margarine that reminded me why I only make my cookies with butter. With a different type of fat, I'd like these a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Fantastic as everyone has said. I made these adjustments for HIGH ALTITUDE (we live at 7,000ft): added 3 TBSP of flour and lowered the oven temp to 325. They came out soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
super peanut buttery and soft and moist... perfect peanut butter cookie and the only one I am making from here on out. At least try it.... you wont be diappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
These gingerbread cookies are fantastic. I found I had to add a very short 1/4 c of flour to make the dough workable to roll into balls. I think I could have left out the water. The dough must be soft so add flour, if needed, a little at a time. Don't forget to flatten them before baking! I got rave reviews on these wonderful cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Strube

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I thought it tasted very good! It tastes like gingerbread. I don't like margarine so I used butter and it still tastes great! Good recipe, recommend it to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
If you like ginger cookies, you will love these! I did what the other reviewers said and substituted orange juice for water and refrigerated the dough. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Best Cookies Ever!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,723) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States