Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
These cookies are AMAZING. I used butter instead of margarine and used the helpful tip to spray cooking spray so molasses didn't stick! They are super soft and a delectable balance of spices. My husband who doesn't typically like gingerbread cookies ate several of these right away :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
OH MY GOSH. Even if you're not sure, just make them. They're amazing. The longer they bake the darker they get and turn out like a ginger snap. Let them bake long enough that the tops look crackly. You're also going to need more than 2tbs of sugar to roll them in. Go 2tbs in bowl at a time though and refill as needed to minimize waste. ...Amazing cookies!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I made with butter. I thought they were good right out of the oven, then I tried one the next day. Even better. Oh my goodness! I made sandwich cookies with these and a pumpkin cheesecake mousse. Absolutely delightful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I agree with others who chilled this dough before getting it on the pan. I would also say that you should cook it longer than the 8-10 minutes; more like 10-12. Also flatten them out when putting on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SumBeeCee
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Really great texture: these cookies are chewy on the outside, soft on the inside. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
These are the best cookies!I used oj in place of water. I baked about 10 min and let rest 2 min., then I removed to cooling rack. I made an icing of confectionary sugar with OJ and drizzle tops- they were eaten quickly...I did not have to chill-they easily rolled into balls and then the sugar to bake on pan. Its a easy recipe and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
These cookies are delicious! I put my dough in the freezer for a few minutes before rolling them into balls, & between rolling each batch. Made the dough easier to handle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
These were pretty good! I've made them 3 times, every time with butter: 1) I made as directed and they were sticky and way too sweet! I had rolled them in sugar. I had chilled them as other people had suggested and didn't really think it had an effect. They were hard as rocks after baking so I had them dipped in my tea. They had excellent flavour though, so I knew I was going to make them again with some alterations. 2) I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup of sugar and omitted the water. Tasted delicious and were softer! But didn't really flatten out or crinkle nicely around the edges. I didn't chill them this time. Also had the oven at 375 3) I kept the sugar at 3/4 cups, still left out the water, but added slightly more butter, Like 7/8ths of a cup. Oven at 375. I rolled them about 1.5 inch balls and did not flatten. Still didn't chill and this time they are perfect! Is definitely a keeper now that I have perfected the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna Groen
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I LOVE these cookies! I make them every fall and make them into ice cream sandwiches with homemade Pumpkin ice cream. They're divine! I do add a bit of finely chopped candied ginger to mine, and next time I'll try to orange juice suggested by other reviewers. After this, you never need another Ginger Cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 3,766) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States