Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
These cookies are fantastic! Easy to make,they stay soft and are just as good after freezing. I make these evey year at Chistmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
These were fabulous! I was a little skeptical that they would turn out huge & cakey but they flattened down nicely once they were out of the oven. Didn't bother mixing the baking soda with the hot water. I absolutely recommend chilling the dough, otherwise it is a sticky unrollable mess! 20 min. in the freezer was about perfect. Added a little cinnamon - will probably add larger amounts of the spices next time. But overall a fantastic cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
FANTASTIC gingerbread cookie recipe! Followed to a T but took suggestions and did 1 tbs OJ instead of water. Ahmazing!! I also decided to "try" rolling and using cookie cutters and the result was beautiful. Thicker, they are yummy and chewy. Thinner and they are crisp gingersnaps. WIN/WIN situation here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
AWESOME. The dough was perfect to work with, and they are beautiful, soft, delicious cookies. I used room-temperature butter instead of margarine. I also added a tsp of vanilla. I have no idea how (according to some reviews) anyone would end up with runny batter (unless they melted the margarine/butter?), or how they could end up with hard or flat cookies. These are just perfect cookies. Mine appear lighter in colour and a bit puffier than the picture posted. Once cooled, put in a container with a sealed lid to keep them nice and soft, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Tips: 1) use full flavor (or dark molasses)...you can get away with using a T. less, so your dough won't get as sticky 2) cut the water (or OJ) in half, also reducing the sticky 3) MINIMALLY!!! soften your butter or margarine (marg. probably doesn't require softening at all!), again to reduce the sticky 4) if you can, mix the flour mixture in by hand/with wooden spoon...won't "heat" the dough as much and will reduce the stickiness :) 5)I like to roll mine in raw sugar; deeper flavor and prettier to look at!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Very, very good!! I used Cointreau in place of the water and you can taste it...it works well. Also, I refrigerated the dough for half an hour to make it easier to handle. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Very little flavor will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Cobb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made these cookies intentionally to take them to school but my family ate them all before I could, they were just delicious. I cooked them a little less than 8 minute though to give them a softer texture but other then that they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Simple & delicious! I used a convection oven & gave em 2 extra mins. They came out with a crispy crust & soft in the middle (I like them totally soft)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandieqh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Delicious! My family likes a little bit more spice so I added 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp allspice, 1/2 tsp cardamon and a pinch of pepper. Easy to make and turned out nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 3,704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States