Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made these cookies for a friend who said they hadn't had "soft ginger cookies" since they were a kid. I had never heard of them so of course I looked them up on all recipes.com. I made the cookies the first time exactly according to the recipe except using OJ in lieu of water. Everyone loved them. I then tried a few tweaks as wanted them just a bit chewier. I had stumbled across a gourmet sugar called Dark Muscavado Cane sugar( India Tree Gourmet spices , Seattle, WA from the island of Mauritus) . So I followed the above recipe except substituted the Dark Muscavado sugar for regular sugar, added a pinch of cardamom in addition to the spices listed, and added a teaspoon of apricot preserves hoping it would deliver the additional "chewiness" and avoid cracking. I did have to put the finished mixture in the freezer for a 1/2 hour in clear saran wrap to firm it up. Next time I will probably put the dough in the refrigerator overnight. I never used muscaovado cane sugar before and since it has a bit of molasses content in the cane sugar itself I think it enhanced the already delicious flavor of this great soft cookie ginger recipe. So glad this recipe was shared I will come back to it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
These are awesome!! I made mine bigger, so I get a dozen out of this recipe. I spray my hands with cooking spray when rolling them. Doesn't stick to your hands. Then cover with sugar and put on cookie sheet. I don't have to flatten them when I make them bigger. They turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
the BEST recipe!!! I love this recipe I make it every year for the past 3 years for xmas! and even sometimes when my husband ask for them :) they are soft and moist inside! they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I love these cookies! I bake them every year for Christmas and everyone always looks forward to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Really delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
These got snarfed down. They came out perfectly soft and chewy without feeling underbaked. I didn't have the margarine on hand so ended up using the salted butter I had. Left out the salt the recipe called for and it ended up fine. I also took another reviewer's advice and used orange juice in place of the water. I did not have any trouble working with the dough immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Best cookies ever! They have become my daughters go to cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I have no idea what happened , the reviews are what made me make it, and my cookies turned out nothing as described ! the molasses flavor was much more stronger than ginger and the cookies came out very chewy and thin .I followed the ingredients and directions just have no idea what happened
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lukert2
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great recipe! Make sure you put the dough in the fridge for 40-50 minutes. It helped a lot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lia
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I made a few changes to this recipe-- honey instead of molasses, skipped the clove and salt, and used unsalted butter, not margarine. The consistency was the same, and the cookies turned out better than I had hoped. See photo. Soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 3,892) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States