Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I may need to make a second batch, as I don't know if there'll be enough left in two days' time. I will reduce the sugar a bit next time I make them, but they're excellent. I used an inch wide cookie dough scoop to drop the dough directly in the sugar, didn't flatten them, as I didn't read that far ahead in the recipe, and they spread out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Very good cookie! In fact, I had to give them away so I wouldn't eat them all. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Quick and easy to make. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I saw they needed flattening after my first tray. FYI flatten slightly after placing in cookie sheet. Other than that I had no trouble making them and no messy gooey batter it was ready to roll just after mixing so my thoughts as to why others may have had a gooey mess is that perhaps their butter was warmer than room temperature. Great recipe I will make them again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
We substituted coconut oil for the butter and brown sugar for the white sugar. Upped the ginger to three teaspoons. Awesomeness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I added a 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and threw in about 3/4 cup crystallized ginger nibs that I had sitting around. I didn't even have to refrigerate the dough before I rolled out the balls, as others reviewers mentioned. My issue with this cookie is the margarine. There was an off-putting flavor from the margarine that reminded me why I only make my cookies with butter. With a different type of fat, I'd like these a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Fantastic as everyone has said. I made these adjustments for HIGH ALTITUDE (we live at 7,000ft): added 3 TBSP of flour and lowered the oven temp to 325. They came out soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
super peanut buttery and soft and moist... perfect peanut butter cookie and the only one I am making from here on out. At least try it.... you wont be diappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Mcellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
These gingerbread cookies are fantastic. I found I had to add a very short 1/4 c of flour to make the dough workable to roll into balls. I think I could have left out the water. The dough must be soft so add flour, if needed, a little at a time. Don't forget to flatten them before baking! I got rave reviews on these wonderful cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Strube

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I thought it tasted very good! It tastes like gingerbread. I don't like margarine so I used butter and it still tastes great! Good recipe, recommend it to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 3,907) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States