Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
These were good. Still chewy even though I kneaded to heck out of them! I pressed them out and used cookie cutter to make shapes with my 4 year old. The batter was pretty crumbly toward the end! lol The ones we just made as regular cookies worked out better than the shapes. also they did dry out after only a couple days it they were very tasty until then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I have made these MANY times. Since I do not use margarine, I make them using one half cup butter flavored shortening and one quarter cup butter. I also followed the recommendationsof other reviewers and increased the ginger to one tablespoon and the cinnamon to one teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I just made your cookies...But i didn't add water or eggs....I am amazed they STILL turned out yummy! I am one who doesn't bake and if i do it never turns out GUESS WHAT they DID turn out yummy!! THANKS for doing a video too (NOT everyone learns the same and I followed the video and I am so proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Yummy! I waited about twenty minutes until I rolled the dough in the sugar and baked, it's super sticky! I also added brown sugar to my batch and they turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
good and soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
DELICIOUS cookies! I'm usually not a fan of ginger cookies because they tend to be hard and more "snappy." This recipe is great because the cookies come out soft and stay soft for days after they've been baked. Also, they're not too sweet or spicy, but definitely easily altered if you prefer a spicier taste. LOVE THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Many years ago I had a recipe for molasses ginger cookies I got from a West Virginia farmer's wife - best cookies I'd ever tasted. That recipe got lost during a move and I have been chasing that flavor ever since. Out of all the recipes I have found to date this comes the closest to that remembered taste. One year I made them for a family Thanksgiving gathering and they went up against a few other homemade and a bunch of expensive store bought. At the end of the evening there were none of mine left, but plenty of the others available to take home with the leftovers. One little 3 year old guy was caught with one in each hand and a third in his mouth ;-) Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slywlf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shandaken, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I make these each Christmas. I use butter instead of margarine and use coloured sugar to roll them in for a more festive look. They are one of my favorite cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I love this cookie! I did make a couple of substitutiond though. I used brown sugaer instead of white and butter instead of margarine.I also added a little more ginger and cinnamon. These stay soft for days and days..( im making a second batch today) YUM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Amazingly delicious. I made exactly according to the recipe, except, I added a couple pinches of flour to help roll the dough. Make sure you dont over roll your balls or you won't get the pretty crackle effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 3,704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States