Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
The softest, most delicious ginger cookies I have ever had! I used fresh ginger and orange liquor instead of water, as suggested. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Made these cookies last Christmas and they came out really good. This time I did make a few minor changes. Added a touch more ginger and cinnamon and I had no cloves so I used some allspice. Also instead of water, I put in lemon juice. Just wanted a little more kick to the cookies with these changes. Also because of the higher altitude here, I baked them for 12 minutes. Also make sure you flatten them pretty good so you don't get a really high cake like cookie. Turned out perfect. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amazing49

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Nice Chewy! For the Christmas season I rolled them in Red and Green Sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Excellent recipe, moist, and now my hubby's favorite. Since I was out of molasses, I used 3/4 C white sugar and 1/2 C brown sugar (since brown sugar is brown and moist because of molasses). Just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I was very happy at how chewy these stayed. I picked this recipe because I had all the ingredients in my cabinet except the cloves, so I replaced those with some pumpkin pie spice which I knew had cloves in it. The flavor was still great. I rolled the first batch in sugar and found that to be overkill for me, so the second batch went in with just sugar on the top half of the cookie, still a little much so the last cookies in the oven got no extra sugar, and I kept those for myself and let the kids eat the sugar coated ones. I also didn't refrigerate the dough at all, it would have probably helped to keep the dough from being sooo sticky, but I didn't think it was too big of an issue. My cookies rose a little when baking but not much, so I think this wouldn't be the best dough for rolling out and cutting into shapes. Other ginger cookie recipes I have used seem to be made more for that type of cookie, the kind that snaps and is crunchier. I loved these because they were chewy and stayed that way for the next couple days till they were all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very good recipe! Its light flavour and nice aftertaste will have you sneeking into the cookie jar. Only thing I changed was putting the dough into the fridge made it easier to roll. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Fantastic. Just made them with my preschool daughter. Substituted the 5 TBs of brown sugar instead of the molasses and water. Although the batter was a little crumbly, we squeezed the last balls of dough together. Under bake to 8 mins if you use a convection oven, for chewy, otherwise you get ginger snaps, which are tasty too. Will try original recipe and substitute water with either OJ or liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Made absolutely GORGEOUS cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
These are what they say. I have even over cooked a few and still wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I took these to a get-together and they were a big hit! Within 20 minutes of hitting the table, all two dozen were gone. I ended up goosing up the spices in this recipe because I tend to like a spicier gingerbread. 3 tsp ginger, a full tsp of cinnamon, a splash of orange extract, a few dashes of nutmeg, and a pinch of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Harper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 3,909) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States