Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Davidrocks
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
THIS RECIPE IS AWESOME IT TASTED SO GOOD My new favorite cookie this cookie is great especially if you use "sugar in the raw" turbinado sugar to roll the dough in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
SO GOOD! I made these cookies for Thanksgiving and they were a huge hit. Great ginger snap taste but much softer. I took the advice of some other reviews and subbed the water with oj. I chilled the batter overnight. I rolled the batter into little balls and did NOT flatten them. This made the cookies way softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
these are delicious! made exactly 30 for me. dough is sticky, but put back in the refrigerator while waiting for batches to bake. thanks for the post AMY1028. will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This recipe is great! I didn't have ground cloves so I used pumpkin pie spice (nutmeg and cinnamon), turned out great! The recipe as is made 3 1/2 dozen medium cookies. These cookies are great with milk:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
These are by far the best cookies I have ever made! Perfect amount of sweetness. My husband and son both love them! I just followed the other people's tips and they turned out perfect! I will be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
The softest, most delicious ginger cookies I have ever had! I used fresh ginger and orange liquor instead of water, as suggested. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Made these cookies last Christmas and they came out really good. This time I did make a few minor changes. Added a touch more ginger and cinnamon and I had no cloves so I used some allspice. Also instead of water, I put in lemon juice. Just wanted a little more kick to the cookies with these changes. Also because of the higher altitude here, I baked them for 12 minutes. Also make sure you flatten them pretty good so you don't get a really high cake like cookie. Turned out perfect. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amazing49

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Nice Chewy! For the Christmas season I rolled them in Red and Green Sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Excellent recipe, moist, and now my hubby's favorite. Since I was out of molasses, I used 3/4 C white sugar and 1/2 C brown sugar (since brown sugar is brown and moist because of molasses). Just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I was very happy at how chewy these stayed. I picked this recipe because I had all the ingredients in my cabinet except the cloves, so I replaced those with some pumpkin pie spice which I knew had cloves in it. The flavor was still great. I rolled the first batch in sugar and found that to be overkill for me, so the second batch went in with just sugar on the top half of the cookie, still a little much so the last cookies in the oven got no extra sugar, and I kept those for myself and let the kids eat the sugar coated ones. I also didn't refrigerate the dough at all, it would have probably helped to keep the dough from being sooo sticky, but I didn't think it was too big of an issue. My cookies rose a little when baking but not much, so I think this wouldn't be the best dough for rolling out and cutting into shapes. Other ginger cookie recipes I have used seem to be made more for that type of cookie, the kind that snaps and is crunchier. I loved these because they were chewy and stayed that way for the next couple days till they were all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 3,893) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States