Big Smokey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Just a simple request for when people make suggestions for substitutions--please include amounts! I made these burgers tonight, and like one of the other reviewers, I had no chipotle peppers, but I did have the spice available. Unfortunately, I had no idea how much to substitute for the chipotle pepper, and ended up adding waaaaayyy too much spice to my burgers. They were blazing hot! I used 1 teaspoon of spice to 1 1/4 pound of ground sirloin (for four servings). So if anyone suggests a substitution, please also suggest a quantity to use. I know I would really appreciate the help, and maybe others would, too. I enjoyed the burgers, and I will give them another shot with either real chipotles or lower the amount of spice I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
We LOVE this recipe and have even used it with ground turkey. I didn't follow the recipe exactly as I didn't have chipotle sauce or peppers. And, after the first time, I also decreased the liquid smoke to 1 tsp because it seemed to be a little strong. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Yummy! Very good grilled burger. I used garlic powder instead of the minced garlic and did half and half gound beef and ground turkey. I also used pepper jack cheese. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I used all the seasoning as noted except for the chilies as we are wimps in that department. I topped the burgers with Gouda cheese the last few minutes on the grill. I really liked the flavors of this burger and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZUEBEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Clarinda, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This was great. It was nice to have a very tasty burger for a change. My boyfriend raved about these to all his friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Robinsville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Tried these tonight- was going to make a meatloaf from the recipe as I didn't have any buns. The more I read the reviews, I realized that these would be at their peak from grilling. So, we had the burgers minus the buns and cheese. We got to taste the true flavor. Very, very tasty. I might use a teeny bit less chipotles in adobo next time. My word on that ingredient is this-buy a small can, put the remainder in an airtight container and keep it in the frig. I have been using the same container for about 6 months. Believe me, it keeps its flavor and kick! And, there's not really any great substitute when a recipe calls for it. One question for the others- what did they use as "grill seasoning?" I don't have any on hand, as we do most of our own combinations to make rubs, etc. I just used some paprika, chili powder and smoked salt. We really loved these. This recipe elevates burgers to "company" status. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLHSCHNEIDER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chinhae, Kyongsang-Namdo, South Korea
Living In: Myersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These are wonderful tasting burgers! This is the 3rd time that I've used this recipe. The 2nd time I used ground turkey breast instead of beef. It was drier but still very good flavor. I've also combined all of the ingredients (except the beef) in a bowl and made a paste like out of it and rubbed it on some fish that I was going to saute. It too was pretty darned good! The smokiness and heat of the chipotles combined with the liquid smoke is quite a tasty combo. I really like your recipe. Thanks! I would have never thought of this on my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
We really enjoyed these burgers. I used onion powder since I don't care for onion and McCormick hamburger seasoning for the grill seasoning, but it was too salty so next time I will make my own or use something else. I cut this in half for just the 3 of us. The canned chipotle peppers though barely had any adobo sauce so I scraped up what I could and used it. I used La Costena brand. I cooked this in a skillet/stovetop instead of grilling this time. Thanks Janine, these were good and we will be having these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Great flavor and very juicy. This recipe is now at the top of my list for burgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
These were great...I did use a little less liquid smoke and chipole cheddar cheese...the best BBQ'd burgers I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mreece2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States