Big Smokey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
The most juicy and tender homemade burger, ever! Very simple to make! Instead of fresh garlic, I used about 1 tsp. of garlic powder, because I wasn't keen on a strong garlic flavor inside the burger. I formed these into 1/3 to 1/2 lb. patties that were thick, and put them in the fridge for the next night. Grilled them up and they were delicious, but they may need more salt (according to my father and a couple of other guests) :) but I thought they were fine with whatever amount was in the grill seasoning and the rest of the ingredients.. but you can play with that according to your own tastes. The juiciness of these burgers is what won me over. I will look no further for a burger recipe. This is it. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I halved the recipe and think next time I'll put the whole 1 chipotle pepper in for the 1lb of meat for more flavor. The smokiness in the burger is great! I'll try this again for sure. **Update: I made the halved recipe again and using 1 full chipotle pepper is the way to go. I use course salt and cracked pepper on the outside of my burgers. I've also made this recipe with ground turkey breast and let the burgers sit overnight prior to cooking in a pan and they were delicious! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Delicious with NO smoke flavoring. Need to try with the adobo chipotles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
These burgers are outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
one of the most flavorful burger i've ever had. I didn't have the chipotle/adobo sauce or liquid smoke but I love them so I'd use it next time for sure. But in the mean time you can substitute smoked paprika about 1 tsp, chili powder about 1/2 tsp, and a touch of cayenne pepper and you get a similar flavor. I felt like the burger needed something a little sweet, so you could either add a bit of brown sugar or top with BBQ like we did. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I made these as written and they had a lot of flavor. We tried to grill them and ran out of propane so I finished them on the stove. I think they dried out in that process but the flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
We thought this was great and delicious. I used half ground chicken breast and half sirloin and left out the chipotle chili and it was plenty spicly for us. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Made these burgers today and they were quite tasty. Did not use any grill seasoning, only smoked paprika, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, salt and pepper. The liquid smoke flavoring really made a difference in this recipe. Will probably make again, but with ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
These burgers were very tasty! I thought the spiciness was just right, but my husband thought it could have been more spicy. Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathiepf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Very good recipe for when you're sick of regular burgers! I halved the liquid smoke and worcestershire sauce. Everyone enjoyed them, even my beef purist husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States