Big Pot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
With a couple of minor adjustments, this is excellent. With this quantity of garlic, I think slow cooking for much longer than 90 minutes is essential. Otherwise there is a lingering garlic harshness which mellows and becomes a great undertone after about three hours. I also would use far more onion......onions are full of sugar, and also add a nice chunkiness. I'd use four or five times the onion, sauteed until translucent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2000
Need just a little sugar added to the mix. Other than that it is a good sauce. Freezes well and tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
The oregano must have been a typo. A full cup?? And 20 cloves of garlic - really?? The garlic and oregano simply overwhelmed all the other ingredients with an unpleasant acrid flavor. The acidity that many felt needed to be counteracted with an addition of sugar results from pouring in the wine at the end of the cooking time, instead of at the beginning, which would allow the alcohol to burn off and a mellow flavor to develop. Eating this was not a pleasant experience. It got fed to my brand new KitchenAid disposer. You could probably turn this into a decent recipe, but not without some drastic changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I've made this twice now, and I agree with the reviewers that it needs to simmer a bit longer (I let it go about 3 hours) . The second time around, I added additional sausage, extra garlic, and used Pinot Grigio because I had no red wine. I also chose to balance the acidity with a bit of sugar. This freezes really well. With my modifications, I give this 5 stars! 2011 UPDATE: I've discovered that we prefer this sauce if I use 1 #10 can (you know, the really big one) of diced tomatoes in puree to replace all the little ones. Do that, and you have no fooling around with the whole tomatoes at the end (hubby, who doesn't like big hunks of cooked tomato, prefers the diced as well -- no surprises if you miss any!) This is our go-to sauce now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Thanks for the great recipe! I used fresh tomatoes so I ended up simmering it all night long! We woke up so hungry for the sauce after smelling it cook all night! I added a can of tomato paste too because my tomatoes were a bit watery. I think this would make an excellent manicotti or lasagne sauce where you don't cook the noodles first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2001
My whole family loved this sauce. Even the picky 5 year old who only eats his spaghetti with butter asked for some of this because it smelled so good, and ate every bite. I cooked mine in my slow cooker for 24 hours, which made it very easy. It freezes very well, and makes three meals worth of sauce for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Too much oregano for my taste-I froze it in quart size bags & add a large can of crushed tomatoes and simmer a while before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARA428

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Forge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montoursville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
This was okay. My dad really liked it and my mom thought it was good. My husband said it would have been better with a lot less oregano. I only made about a third of the recipe. My 1 year old ate a little of the sauce, my 3 year old tasted it and decided he just wanted noodles and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
Flavor of this recipe is so-so. With this much garlic there is a long lingering bitter after taste that is not pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States