Big M's Spicy Lime Grilled Prawns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This recipe, and I made exactly as stated, needs some work. What I ended up with was the puckering taste of lime to end all limes (granted, I juiced those limes well, as I used to work in a southwest Mexican/Mediterranian restaurant as a prepcook). It's a good start, just needs some tweaking. I would at least double or triple the amount of ginger and garlic called for. It had 0 heat even with four jalapeno bodies (maybe he meant to use ceranos but, it's not stated), so add the seeds too. I noticed when I was making this that there is no salt or pepper and thought that was a little odd. Add a couple tsp of salt at least and maybe a few cracks of pepper. It's a good base, but really with the zest of four limes AND all their juice, they overpowered the amount of the rest of ingredients included in the recipe and all I got was a bitter lime taste. Also, could try adding some sugar as well. Help cut the extreme bitterness of the lime. That's my 2c anyway. Thanks for the recipe. (btw, i tried to remedy by sprinkling salt, cracked pepper, and cumin over skewers the second day, it helped).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
I tried this recipe for a birthday party in March, and it was a huge hit. The only change I made was to add about 2 oz of rum in order to thin out the marinade a bit. I only had time to marinate the prawns for 2 hours, but they were great, and I've served them twice since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
We really enjoyed this. The lime and spice level were just right (I left the seeds in half of the jalapenos). I learned somewhere along the way that a citrus marinade essentially cooks seafood if left too long (and 4 hours would be considered too long), so I marinated the shrimp for about a half hour, and it absorbed the flavor perfectly without sacrificing texture. I sliced some extra onion and grilled it with the shrimp in a grill pan until it was nice and caramelized--yum! This was easy to prepare and went very well with Sweet and Sassy Vanilla Slaw, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I rarely eat fish and I passed on this but my partner loved it. I made it exactly as directed. I also made him Citrus Swordfish With Citrus Salsa (on this site) the other night. He said it was a real treat to have the fish and said both were of restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
My shrimp must have been in the marinade for too long, they were tough. I really was not pleased with this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Made this for the 4th of July -- just as written. It turned out wonderful and was gone before everything else. Contrary to what some have said it's the perfect amount of spice (not too much and not too little), I would only cut out some of the chile peppers if you are sensitive to spicy foods. I will probably make it everytime I grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Followed this to the T aside from I had no more green chillies so had to use 1 green and 1 red as a substitute. On the whole was disappointed with a high star recipe. It was too sour and the the prawns turned out a poor texture, even though I marinaded it for 2.5 hrs only. Th eonly pro was that the marinade did surprisingly impart alot of flavour abeit sour. Would not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
These were a huge hit at our last cookout - and I'm about to cook them again. Great flavor with the heat from the chiles and the sweet heat of the ginger. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JYHICKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States