Big M's Spicy Lime Grilled Prawns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This was a big hit at my Memorial Day party. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Brewster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This recipe, and I made exactly as stated, needs some work. What I ended up with was the puckering taste of lime to end all limes (granted, I juiced those limes well, as I used to work in a southwest Mexican/Mediterranian restaurant as a prepcook). It's a good start, just needs some tweaking. I would at least double or triple the amount of ginger and garlic called for. It had 0 heat even with four jalapeno bodies (maybe he meant to use ceranos but, it's not stated), so add the seeds too. I noticed when I was making this that there is no salt or pepper and thought that was a little odd. Add a couple tsp of salt at least and maybe a few cracks of pepper. It's a good base, but really with the zest of four limes AND all their juice, they overpowered the amount of the rest of ingredients included in the recipe and all I got was a bitter lime taste. Also, could try adding some sugar as well. Help cut the extreme bitterness of the lime. That's my 2c anyway. Thanks for the recipe. (btw, i tried to remedy by sprinkling salt, cracked pepper, and cumin over skewers the second day, it helped).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Awesome....the hubby and I loved it. The prep work was fast and easy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Just Awesome!! Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This was fabulous. I don't even like really spicy food, and i thought it wasn't too spicy, just spicy enough. I made a few changes, I used one large jalepeno pepper- I was scaling the recipe down- 1/2 onion, 3 small limes(juice and zest). I also added a little honey to the mixture to sweeten it up. My husband raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This was awesome!!! It was too windy outside so I baked at 425 for just under 10 minutes - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Oh Muma!!! I added more chilis because i like it hot and MMmm very good!!! Would definatley recommend p.s. much easier using preshelled prawns took me ages hee hee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This was amazing. I ended up dumping the marinade and the shrimp into a saute pan and cooking them on the stove instead of on the grill. My son was not happy I only made a half pound of shrimp and wants it again soon. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This is tasty and works well even without four hours of marinating. I added a lot more chillis and it was accordingly hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
My shrimp must have been in the marinade for too long, they were tough. I really was not pleased with this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States