Big James' Pork Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This rub is quick to throw together and tastes great. I used it on baby back ribs and it really gave the meat a wonderful flavor. Ignore the calories and servings on this recipe. I had a lot left over after coating a full slab of ribs on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This rub is great. The pork ribs had a tasty crust outside and so moist, tender and juicy inside. I get frequent requests for these. My daughter has to have these for her birthday dinner. Thank you for this wonderful spice rub. It was exactly what I was looking for !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Excellent! Loved this rub. I used on pork that I marinated in this rub and put in the crock pot. After 8-10 hours, shredded the meat and added our fave BBQ sauce. Excellent BBQ pork! Family loved...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made a few changes like adding 3 Tsp cinnamon used cerry powder in stead of cumman and added 2Tsp ground thyme also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allan Haliday

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
It's got a kick--a great one! I LOVE this rub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Witte Grubbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
It would be helpful if it said the portion sizes so you don't have so much that you need to throw away afterwards
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Used this rub for spare ribs -big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Awesome recipe... Hope you don't mind but we added a little freshly ground szechuan pepper (mixed in with the black peppercorns) and 2 tsp of onion powder. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
where can i buy celery seed i can't find it in any supermarket
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mick Reed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
we used this on a boston butt and it came out pretty good.. we're usually not one for rubs with sugar but it wasn't overpowered by the sugars.. i liked the small amount of heat on the end.. bf said it produced a nice candy on it.. i agree.. bf's sister and niece stopped by and tried it and said they liked it too.. i tripled the salt but kept everything else the same.. caution it does make a lot and i even halved the recipe.. ty for this simple rub
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States