Big Guy Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This was a very yummy different kind of pie. The family loved it just the right thing for our first go round of strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was easy and I especially liked the crust. I was unsure about the jelly part but it works and tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Did not seem like enough glaze. Pie ended up soggy (could of been my fault). It was tasty though. I'll probably try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I especially liked this crust since pastry making is not something I do well. DGV's suggestion of making a ball of the dough and spreading it in a sprayed pan was a big help! Mine did stick some but more spray and less pressure will probably help next time. I also used my KitchenAid mixer with the white beater to mix the dough (the dough hook would probably work great but didn't know where it was, since I don't do pastries:-) Next time, think I will add some finely chopped pecans or almonds to the crust. My filling was a little runny but my strawberries were just past their peak. Probably adding a little strawberry jello as others suggested would help, but didn't have any. I used drops of red coloring until the color suited me, maybe 6. All in all, a good pie and a 'homemade' crust that even I wouldn't be afraid to take to a potluck. Will try the crust for other pies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I followed another reviewer's advice to put a layer of cream cheese mixed with a little powdered sugar on the crust before adding the strawberries. Delicious! It made it taste like cheesecake! We liked this much better than the Jell-o variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by what's for dinner, Mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I really liked it. I left out the food coloring and the clear look was okay. Just less red, so I deem it unnecessary for the pie. Unfortunately the crust sunk, which was pretty disappointing. Aside from that it was really good. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This recipe is sooooo easy and so good. I defrosted frozen stawberries and then mix them in with the gel. Very good and very easy. If I don't have red food coloring, I will omit that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
good use of lots of strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
UPDATE: I ASKED MY MOM WHAT DESSERT SHE WANTED ME TO SERVE FOR HER BDY. SHE CHOSE THIS (SHE SAW IT IN THE FRIDGE ON SAT.)!!! SOOOO good! My "to be" MIL requested I bring a dessert for Easter dinner. B/c I was hosting myself (Sat. eve.), and had a LOT of stuff to to do for that, I wanted a dessert that required min. prep, but exceeded my expectations flavor-wise. This was just the ticket! I must admit.... I wasn't expecting much. After tasting the crust (a bit broke off!) & glaze, I wasn't impressed. HOWEVER, the irony of this recipe is the simplicity of ea. part - once asssembled, everything complements ea. other nicely. One other plus+.... The ing. for this are inexpensive, you probably have most on hand anyways & assembly is a snap! I made a few ch., not b/c they were necessary, but b/c I wanted to. :-) Instead of using a pie plate, I dbl. the crust & used my new tart pan. I had to bake a little longer b/c of that, prob. 20 min. total (a guess since I didn't time it). My only other ch. was to toss my strawberries w/ the glaze & then dump into my tart shell. I think next time I'll add some Jell-O as others have done. Handy tip: To easily hull your strawberries, use a STURDY straw. Simply push the straw up from the bottom thru the stem, and viola - instant hulled berries! My fiance's bros (who don't like sweets) HAD to have a slice when they saw how good this looked. Both licked their plates clean!!! Try this with a dollop of whipped cream. It's divine! Thx. for sharing. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Amazing! I made it for my friend's birthday and she could not believe I made it. The crust came out to be cookie-like and she was so in love with it (as was I). I'm pretty surprised at how good it really is even though it was so simple to make! Thank you Pat Collins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States