Big Germans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I liked this recipe but there is definitely too much butter for my taste. My family is SUPER picky and none of my 3 kids or my husband liked it. I may try to make again for company and use less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Smith Weiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Awesome awesome! I've used a couple other German pancake recipes on this site and was not getting the puffy results I wanted. This is the one that worked, and my entire family loved it! Since I love sweet, I added a tablespoon of honey. Instead of the lemon glaze, I used a yummy sauce that consisted of butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, and cream. Oh yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Dutch pancakes are so easy and the perfect breakfast for busy mornings. I love them served with fresh fruit and pure maple syrup. Half this recipe fits perfectly in a 7 inch cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Oh my gosh, delicious! I prepared as directed, divided the dough in half, and added cinnamon and sugar to half the batter. I put the two batters in two different 9 in cake rounds. When they were done, I put sausage and cheese in one and put it back in the oven with the broiler to melt the cheese. We added strawberries and powdered sugar to the other. Simply awesome! Great texture. Pretty easy! Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Turned out perfect! I put my 12" cast iron skillet in the oven when I turned on the oven, so the skillet would be good and hot. Key...eggs need to be at room temp. I warmed my milk then mixed in my room temp eggs. Mixed in the flour and salt. Let rest until oven was warmed. Pulled out cast iron skillet added butter to pan, let melt, then added batter, returned to oven,baked 15min. It was perfect! Don't open oven door it let's out the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Freaking AMAZING! These are the best, yet easiest, breakfast to make for house guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this for breakfast it was good. Super easy and quick! I added some cinnamon too! So delicious will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I preheated my oven to 400f with a large cast iron skillet in it while it was heating, made my mixture and then added the butter and to the skillet and bake for 35 mins. It turned out much lighter and not so eggy, also added 1/2tsp vanilla extract to boost flavor and aroma, absolutely delicious! Thank you very much for the recipe, very happy man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Really fun to make, sprinkle with powdered sugar, and place it in the middle of the table for everyone to grab a piece of. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Mrs. liked this. I felt it was ok. A tad too much butter perhaps. I used unsalted in this recipe. Will make it again since she seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Big Dipper Sandwich

See how to make a tender roast beef sandwich with dipping sauce.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States