Big E's BBQ Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I LOVE THIS RUB! I have made it many times now. I do exactly as it says. I have been making triple batches of it and store it in a glass canister so I always have it on hand. I put it on all meats and seafood and I use the sugars no matter what I put it on. This rub makes everything taste exquisite! Thanks so much for this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Loved it. It worked wonderfully as a starting point to throw together a rub for the pork shoulder I was smoking. My first time and the rub made the meal. Didn't have ground mustard or red pepper, used garlic salt instead of garlic powder & kosher salt. Will probably try to get more of these spices and stay more true to the recipe and see which fits my family's taste better. Just what I was looking for to lead me at the time. Thanks so much! Update...used this again. Both times I took the advice of a meat smoking website and rubbed the pork with mustard first to allow the rub to stick. Maybe that's why we didn't miss the ground mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
My husband and oldest boy made this rub together for our big barbeque day. They followed the recipe exactly only they doubled the recipe AND they did not use white pepper only because I don't have it in the spice cabinet. They rubbed this on boneless pork short ribs, chicken legs and BLSL chicken breasts. It looked and smelled fantastic--the one issue that we had was it was REALLY spicy. Like overkill spicy. We all thought the flavor of the rub was right where it should be but the hot overpowered everything else. My husband said that we'd try this again but cut WAY back on the red pepper flake and maybe the black pepper. We all thought that this made the nicest crust on the meat and looked beautiful right off the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Really good....omitted the white pepper and white sugar....used on Bacon Wrapped Barbeque Shrimp from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was a very tasty. I used it on salmon and chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I used this on my baby back ribs, and it was very tangy and spicy. Huge hit with the family.. I will be making again this summer! (The only ingredient I didn't have is the white pepper)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was a great rub. I had some pork butt bone in ribs that I left the rub on all day. I did use a little less salt because of another review made. Probably about 1/2 tbsp. I also then put a little Sweet Baby Rays BBQ Sauce on the ribs. I had to do the ribs in the oven because of Erie PA weather. I cooked them on 250 degrees for 3 hrs, took them out and then put the BBQ sauce on them for at least 30 minutes. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Murphy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Awesome! I just finished serving a smoked brisket using this rub (minus the sugar, of course), and it was a hit! Thanks for the recipe, I'll definitely be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Love this rub! We used it on bacon-wrapped shrimp and it was amazing. I do not think it needs the added salt because of the saltiness of the Old Bay. Thanks so much for the recipe. We will use it on all varieties of meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I took out the red pepper flakes, Old Bay, and white pepper. I think I also added a little more brown sugar. It was an awesome rub. I used this on a pork tenderloin and baked it in my toaster oven. Got a great crust. Tasted like more work than it was. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States