Big Ed's Cajun Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
this soup came out great. thanks big ed. i made a shrimp stock and used that instead of water. i also added squid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattandersen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Even the most discerning food critics in my house loved this soup. Left out the water and used a can of diced tomatoes. Added crab meat and didn't need to. Great soup for a cold rainy N.W. evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Added crab, a lot of hot sauce, and more shrimp. Tasted delicious. It is great for tailgating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
YUM! This soup was so good, plus it is quick and easy. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Y-U-M! DOUBLE THE RECIPE! Thanks Big Ed for an AWESOME recipe. Readers, I made quite a few recommendations, but not because the soup needed it - it was for personal preference only. This is a 5* soup as it stands. I added 1/2 chopped red pepper (which I happened to have on hand), AT LEAST 2 T. red pepper flakes, 2 tilapia filets, 4 chopped green onions, at least 1 T. Old Bay Seasoning, Seafood Seasoning was added to my tilapia filets, 3 stalks of celery, 1 T. garlic and I also used SPICY V8 juice. And, lots of Tobasco! We like things HOT, and this did not disappoint with my changes. I also pumped up the volume on all spices. I typically don't like when people modify recipes - but we did it to satisfy our particular taste. Ed's soup is a FANTASTIC recipe - we just customized it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I thought this soup was great! I doubled the recipe per other user's reviews and was glad I did. This recipe was very simple and quick to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by occoastal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I was a little skeptical about a soup with V8 and clam juice, but it turned out great! I added more spices and hot sauce to cover up some of the fishy taste the shrimp added. Also threw in half a bag of frozen okra to make an even hartier soup. I was full after two bowls! Served it up with pieces of a fresh loaf of crusty Italian bread. BTW, it took me forever to find the clam juice. I found it with the canned tuna and sardines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very good! I added a small can of corn (drained) and it was a hit! I also used a 1 lb bag of peeld/frozen shrimp instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This soup is very yummy. I add scallops and crab meat as well. It is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MonicaG
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
YUMMY! This was exactly what I hoped it would be. Like some other reviewers, I also added extra seafood, white fish and clams. Since my fish was frozen, I added it a few minutes before the shrimp. I couldn't find clam juice so I used the juice from a can of baby clams, then added the clams later with the shrimp. I also didnt have vegetable cocktail (would have bought some when I got the clams but I thought I had a can at home), so I used tomato soup! Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States