Big Ed's Cajun Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I don't want to rate because I made a couple of changes that may have been the problem, but I couldn't post without givin it something. This was OK, but something was lacking. I took some reviewers suggestions and used V8 juice and added crab meat with the shrimp. The crab meat did nothing for the soup so NEVER use that. I wonder if the clam juice was the problem - if anyone has any thoughts please post. I think I'll try it again with something besides clam juice and without crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
If you want a soup that is close to gumbo without all the work, this is it. Super flavor good any day of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Pretty good.... My hubby's exact words (I quote): "If you had made more, I would eat this tomorrow too." I have to disagree. I like my tomato seafood soup recipe much better. It calls for cheaper, more common pantry ingredients such as jarred tomato sauce, salsa and diced tomatoes. This is not bad by any means. It's just not as good as my recipe and calls for unusual ingredients I don't normally keep on hand (i.e. tomato-veggie cocktail, clam juice). All in all, this was decent, but somewhat lacking without the addition of a few items to add some much needed "bulk." I ended up doubling the broth / veggies / spices and adding 2 cubed tilapia filets, 8 oz. lump crabmeat, a can of (drained) chopped clams and 1/2 lb. shrimp (all tossed in at the last 5 minutes). Thanks anyways, MAGICWAD! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
A healthy meal my picky husband actually liked. I added 1/2 tablespoon Lawry's season salt and extra basil instead of regular salt and it almost tastes like a chowder we have at our favorite seafood restaurant :) I almost didn't have any leftovers! I will definitely be making this again. Can't wait to try it with some of the other variations mentioned by others too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belldandy34

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleming Island, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I left out rice & loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is fabulous! I used pasillo peppers instead of green bell peppers which gave it a great flavor. I didn't think V-8 juice would be good but it made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Great soup. I omitted crushed pepper flakes and used spicy vegetable juice. I also used a little liquid crab boil. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
It's a great recipe and really good with crab too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
this soup came out great. thanks big ed. i made a shrimp stock and used that instead of water. i also added squid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattandersen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Even the most discerning food critics in my house loved this soup. Left out the water and used a can of diced tomatoes. Added crab meat and didn't need to. Great soup for a cold rainy N.W. evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States