Big Ed's Cajun Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made this as directed except for 2 things. I added a can of lump crab meat, which was excellent! Also, I went to my pantry to add the rice, and found out I didn't have any. I already had the soup going, so I ended up substituting the rice with orzo. Turned out just fine and my husband was happy because he doesn't like rice very much. To me, this soup tastes a lot like jambalaya. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
We love this soup! We use broth instead of water, add a couple of stalks of celery and onion instead of green onion, and add a can or two of clams in their juices instead of the clam juice. You can make it as spicy as you want and as liquidy (or not) as you want. Absolutely delicious-and healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I made this soup last night because I'd forgotten to take something out of the freezer for dinner. I had a bag of shrimp that I easily defrosted in some cool water and so I was set to go as I had all the other ingredients in the pantry/fridge! I added some smokies (any smoked sausage would work) to give it the smoky flavour I think Cajun food needs. I also used the single serving sized V8 juice cans and put in three to stretch the meal. I think the idea of some celery is a good one and will put some in the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I think this recipe is a great base, but lacking as written. Where are the veggies? I added a bunch of okra and corn, and that filled it out niceley. I also did 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 v8. Will make again with my mods. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Very tasty! I made a couple of substitions, not for taste but rather because of what we had on hand. I used a yellow pepper, regular onion and basmati rice instead of the recommended. I also threw in a handful of frozen corn to add some extra veggies. I made the soup base the night before and added the rice and shrimp after heating the soup back up. I think leaving it overnight really let the flavours deepen. Very good, I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Fantastic, I only made one change (added snow crab legs) and it was a seriously good, although messy, dinner. My hubby, dad and kids can't wait till I make this again. Tkx for the post!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Nice flavor, quick, and simple, can't get any better than that. The only suggestion I would make is to double the recipe because I could see myself eating some more the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This was awesome, the only thing a did different was used 4 cups of Clamato Juice instead of the 3 cups of Vegetable juice plus 1 cup of clam juice. I followed the rest of the spices exactly and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I don't love this at all. I thought it was super bland, and I followed the directions completely. I felt that the V8 completely overwhelmed any other flavor - just tasted like tomato broth with rice and shrimp. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I made this as written except that I left out the butter and used only 1/2 lb of shrimp (that was all I had). It tasted good and was easy to make, but nothing out of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States