Big Ed's Cajun Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
We don't eat Cajun (spicey) but loved my toned-down version. I didn't have a bell pepper but can see where it would be good. I added two cans of clams. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This recipe is amazing! No need to say anything more... the flavor speaks for itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccasmoe20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Lip smacking good, fast and easy. A versatile recipe easily modified to fit your taste but easily shines as is. Improvised w/ 2, 4 ounce cans of minced clams as store was out of clam juice {added juice per recipe & added clams w/ shrimp}. Used low sodium V8 {wish I had used low sodium Spicy Hot V8}, and omitted salt. Substituted beef broth for the water and used 2 bunches of green onions & 5 bay leaves rather than 1. We added extra ingredients: (i) 4, celery stalks, chopped, (ii) 3, jalapeño peppers {wanted to use habanero peppers but not available at store}, and (iii) 6, large sea scallops, quartered. We left out the rice this go round. Even after ramping up the spices and spiking the heat, we still added hot pepper sauce as suggested by Big Ed but that’s because we like things HOT. Other reviewers mentioned adding spicy chorizo sausage and more vegetables, and that’s another variation we may go with in the future. This soup’s flavor is even better the next day. Thanks MAGICWAD for sharing this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by Amy W
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Delicious! I followed the recipe best I could. Had a can of chopped clams instead of clam juice - but most everything else was exactly in the recipe. Mine came out thicker than the lead photo - but I like it like that! I will make this again - and try to add some more veggies to get it even healthier. I only wish I had doubled it to get even more leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Make soup base day before. Use prawns with heads. Needs hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
it was ok, able to eat it but had tart taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wheatley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Excellent recipe!! Didn't change a thing and my family devoured it. The only thing I would do differently next time is too double the recipe so we have left overs! thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCal*Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Really delicious. Did not add salt, clam juice and veggie juice has enough. Served with cornbread muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I did make an addition. I added okra and more rice. But this soup is very good and simple. Thanks Big Ed..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made this as directed except for 2 things. I added a can of lump crab meat, which was excellent! Also, I went to my pantry to add the rice, and found out I didn't have any. I already had the soup going, so I ended up substituting the rice with orzo. Turned out just fine and my husband was happy because he doesn't like rice very much. To me, this soup tastes a lot like jambalaya. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States