Big Ed's Cajun Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
very good. I added a can of minced clams . It thickened quite a bit after I added rice so I added some chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Whoa! This soup is incredible! Well, to be fair, I made a few modifications, but bear with me. I too did the tomato juice and chicken broth thing. I also added three sticks of diced celery and some white onion. Instead of shrimp, I used a bag of frozen langostino from Trader Joes, and added in some frozen sliced okra, (it helps to thicken things up, too!) about 8 ounces worth. I also added about a teaspoon of chili paste, a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce, and 1 tablespoon of cajun seasoning. I can NOT believe how great this tastes! I'm so sad that I have no one to share it with, as M has a picky palate (strictly a "meat and potatoes" kind of guy). Oh well, more for me!! This will be in my regular rotation once the cold Chicago winter begins. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I'm a big fan of soup and will enjoy this recipe again. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was delicious. I followed the recipe as written, came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Super easy, very fast, and very tasty. It's worth getting good shrimp for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Pennington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
We don't eat Cajun (spicey) but loved my toned-down version. I didn't have a bell pepper but can see where it would be good. I added two cans of clams. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This recipe is amazing! No need to say anything more... the flavor speaks for itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccasmoe20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Lip smacking good, fast and easy. A versatile recipe easily modified to fit your taste but easily shines as is. Improvised w/ 2, 4 ounce cans of minced clams as store was out of clam juice {added juice per recipe & added clams w/ shrimp}. Used low sodium V8 {wish I had used low sodium Spicy Hot V8}, and omitted salt. Substituted beef broth for the water and used 2 bunches of green onions & 5 bay leaves rather than 1. We added extra ingredients: (i) 4, celery stalks, chopped, (ii) 3, jalapeño peppers {wanted to use habanero peppers but not available at store}, and (iii) 6, large sea scallops, quartered. We left out the rice this go round. Even after ramping up the spices and spiking the heat, we still added hot pepper sauce as suggested by Big Ed but that’s because we like things HOT. Other reviewers mentioned adding spicy chorizo sausage and more vegetables, and that’s another variation we may go with in the future. This soup’s flavor is even better the next day. Thanks MAGICWAD for sharing this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by Amy W
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Delicious! I followed the recipe best I could. Had a can of chopped clams instead of clam juice - but most everything else was exactly in the recipe. Mine came out thicker than the lead photo - but I like it like that! I will make this again - and try to add some more veggies to get it even healthier. I only wish I had doubled it to get even more leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Make soup base day before. Use prawns with heads. Needs hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States