Big Ed's Cajun Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Great soup, definitely a crowd pleaser. I added scallops and lobster pieces. This soup was a meal not just a course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Niskayuna, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
We absolutely loved this soup, the only change I made was I added clams, octopus, squid, and crab meat along with the shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was very quick and easy to make. I think I let it simmer too long because all the liquid absorbed into the rice and it really wasn't a soup anymore but more of a gumbo type dish. I couldn't find clam juice so I bought a can of minced clams in clam juice and this worked great. I did add celery and 3 cloves of garlic. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Wow....this is EASY EASY EASY to make and tastes great!!!! My hubby told me after I made it that this was his new favorite soup! I really kicked up the heat with some extra red pepper flakes and the hot sauce I use is CRAZY hot. I was short on tomato juice since I need it for a different recipe and didn't want to go to the store so I used 1 can of tomato soup (condensed) and 1.5 cups of V8. Instead of using the 1/2 cup of water, I used chicken broth and added a touch extra to help dilute down the soup a bit. I used pre-cooked shrimp so I only threw them in at the last minute to heat through and I also didn't have clam juice on hand which I usually do and didn't realize this until after I had started to make the soup. I used fish sauce in place of it but next time I will be sure to go for the clam juice for that seafood flavor! The only thing I don't agree with is the serving size...it states this makes 6 servings, but they are not "american" servings....it made us 3 good sized bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was great!!! I made a couple small changes for health reasons: low sodium V8, no added salt. I also accidently forgot to add the extra water. I'm not a fan of V8 so I didn't think I would like this, but it's excellent! Very healthy too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucy
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Great basic recipe. I am sure there are a ton of things people could do with this. I left the recipe as is. And it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
So very tasty and easy to throw together! I routinely keep chopped red/green pepper pieces and chopped onion in zip top freezer bags in my freezer for last minute additions to recipes on busy nights. I made it with shrimp the first time around (I used 1 large can of V-8 to make 2 different batches of soup. I froze the unused portion after making the first batch...worked like a charm for the 2nd batch of soup) and used sliced smoked kielbasa and some home smoked turkey breast chunks for the second batch. We loved both versions! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
So glad I found this recipe! I have made it many times. Mostly made 12 servings because my family loves it so much. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I've never made gumbo before but I used this recipe and added chicken, sausage, celery and okra and "Bam!" I went ahead and cooked the rice first and I only had a couple of cups of tomatoe juice so I made up the rest of the liquid with chicken broth and I dropped in a couple of veg. boullion cubes. You rock Ed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States