Big D's Mushroom and Cheese-Stuffed Venison Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Loved this meatloaf recipe. I use a pound of ground venison and a pound of ground sausagee. Don't know how many oz. of morels, just lined the whole loaf with morels. This will be great without the morels and the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I thought this was a great recipe and very flavorful. Will definitely make again. I made exactly as directed except I used beef and I didn't have bacon so used prosciutto in its place. Very happy with how it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Loved this! Didn't change a thing and it was absolutely delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Loved the stuffing! I made this without the bacon and mushrooms and it was real good. Can't wait to try it with ALL the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I did everything the recipe called for but don't have morels down here so swapped them with fresh white caps plus 1/2 cup of bell pepper. Came out great. Baby Ray's topped it off. I made the mistake of just squirting a line pattern across the top of the meat. Next time I will spread a nice coat across the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Amazing recipe! Venison, bacon, cheese, mushrooms and barbeque sauce...how could it not be wonderful! I didn't have morel mushrooms, so I used baby bellas. I also used "butcher's cut" thick bacon on top. So very yummy...I guess my hubby will have to hunt more so I can make it again! (Although I'm willing to try it with beef as Aacker2005 suggested. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
AWESOME RECIPE!!! I used beef instead of venison it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Wow! This recipe is not to disappoint. Everyone who doesn't like meatloaf has not tried this recipe. Thank you for sharing as this will be a new family recipe! Smokey, cheeses, perfect consistency, and BACON!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I am always looking for more ways to use our ground venison. My whole picky family loved this recipe. Thanks Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this recipe and didn't change a thing about it. Having 3 deer hunters in the family gives me a lot of venison to be creative with. This is hands down one of their favorites. I like using straight venison (vs mixing it with pork) and wrapping the loaf with 7 or 8 bacon strips to help hold it together, then bake it on a broiler pan to catch all the drippings and keep even more of the fat away from the meat. Always have a warm bottle of barbecue sauce on the table for those who want some on every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommawest1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States