Big B's Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and had a house full of people who had never eaten collard greens. I made a few alterations but mostly stuck to the recipe. It was a huge hit. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This recipe was SOOO good!! One thing I suggest would be to reduce the red pepper flakes boy oh boy is it hot!! Had to add some sugar for my husband to cool down the heat! All in All BEST recipe, it was SOOOOO good and I ate my weight in greens this evening!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Delish, and this is coming from a southern girl. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made these greens for my Christmas dinner no need to serve with hot sauce it will sit on the table no one used it. I didn't follow the recipe exactly I didn't use garlic or vinegar and I used beef broth and seasoned everything by looks like my grandmother did and it was super spicy but amazing. I alsocut and soaked my greens the day before with a chopped onion in the water. They were tender spicy and every bite was a joy. Hope you love it as much as we did. It's mandatory for New Years and my Deployed husband wants me to have a plate with me when I pick him up at the airport.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sls459
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This is delicious. I must admit that I doubled the collard greens and the chicken stock though, and I added everything to the pot at once and cooked for about 3 1/2 hours. This is a definite keeper. Oh, and I used sliced pork side meat as my grocery store was out of ham hocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
NOTE: 1 BUNCH COLLARD GREENS = APPROXIMATELY 2 LBS. NOW....THIS RECIPE IS PERFECTION!!!! I have been making greens for years. I grew up on "bitter greens" as we kids called them - turnip and mustard greens with turnips in them, with no smoked meat (that's how my dad liked them - he hated collards). As a kid, i couldn't wait until Thanksgiving at my grandma's house, because she made "sweet greens" - collards with smoked meat. Growing up, I only learned how to make the bitter greens, and was left helpless when I married a man who hated turnips and mustards. I searched and tried many a collard green recipe, playing with seasonings, bacon, salt pork, ham hocks....and then BIG B'S COLLARD GREENS recipe crossed my path. THIS IS AN ABSOLUTELY PERFECT RECIPE I don't know how long Big B worked on getting the perfect mix of seasonings in perfect proportions to make such a luscious recipe. But thank you! I must admist I substituted turkey tails for the ham hocks, only because we cut back on eating pork. TOO DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I used a full 2 lb. bag of greens from Walmart for this dish and cooked the greens for 2 hrs. I reduced red pepper flakes to 1 teaspoon, and I'm REALLY glad I did, because it would have been WAY too hot for us if I hadn't. If you add the full tablespoon and hot pepper sauce, I hope you like really spicey/hot food, cause that is what you're going to get. I added a few tablespoons of sugar because my greens were really bitter and the sugar helped with that. These were delicious, and next time I'm going to try it with smoked turkey instead of the ham hocks. Thanks Big B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was awesome! First time I did collard greens and it was perfect. I only made one alteration, and I dropped the red pepper flakes from 1 tbsp to 1 tsp because we have kids and they all loved it! This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Best Collards I've ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
These are the best greens ever! The only thing we used different was rice vinegar. We also used 2 lbs. of pepared collard greens because it made it a little easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy bar

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States