Big B's Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
These were amazing. True savory, flavorful, southern greens. I have been making them in large batches and freezing quart sized portions so that I always have some ready. I prepared them according to the recipe for the holidays, but made them with only one ham hock during my spring diet. That made a difference - still good but not as savory. Also, if you plan to eat a large portion, your mouth will thank you to reduce the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by samantha
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
loved this recipe however I made some adjustments. first, I used the chicken stock as the recipe calls for however I added smoked bacon no turkey necks or ham hocks, just good old smoked bacon. I prepared the stock and allowed it to simmer for 10 minutes before adding the smoked bacon. I also kept adding water as needed throughout the process before and after adding the greens. I used jalapeño juice and some mild jalapeños after the greens were added to the stock and added some veggie oil (just about a tablespoon) and some white vinegar (to taste). I also added more of all the seasonings in the recipe including red pepper flakes! I loved the flavors and the little punch of heat! Remember to stir periodically. I left my pot of greens on simmer for approx 5 hours. Also, trust you gut and soul when cooking greens. I'm southern and we cook soul food. This recipe is great but add your seasonings and take your time and taste as you go. if it feels good in your soul, you know you are doing a fab job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
My husband makes these for me on Sunday. I was never a greens fan in the past, but I can't get enough of these. The broth is beautiful delicious... and is it Sunday yet?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Simply awesome...worked out great the very first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alethia
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I changed the ham hocks and replaced them with smoked turkey legs!!! Amazing outcome!!! Loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I thought the broth would be a little more flavorful, but this recipe was solid all the way through. My wife liked it which was a big surprise to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I made this recipe for our family Thanksgiving last year - my first time making it for family (talk about pressure)!!! They turned out absolutely wonderful. I even had my brother in law request I make him a pot all for himself :-). The only changes I made were adding a couple of tsps of baking soda for tenderness and not pulling the meat from the ham hocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joi Gardner
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Perfect collards
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Great recipe... I also added polk greens and spinach... plus a teaspoon of veg oil to the pot... wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I loved this recipe. I never have ham hocks but have tried it with chunks of a leftover baked ham or chunks of raw bacon cut up to simmer in the broth and just keep it in there to cook up with the greens. It worked great. I leave out the red pepper flakes. Wish I could leave them in but I have one kid who hates even black pepper. They are still very tasty without the red pepper. I make them one night a week now & everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States