Big Ben's Beef Machaca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Tastes EXACTLY like my local hole in the wall's Machaca Beef. I wasn't sure what some reviewers meant by "didn't taste very Mexican." The large amounts of cumin and oregano are tell tale signs that this dish is going to taste authentic. I know some people expect Mexican to taste one certain way, but that's like expecting bacon wrapped little smokies and boxed mac and cheese to share the same flavor profile since they are both American junkfood, right? Also, this dish is supposed to be soupy, whenever you get it at a restaurant, the beef is making the tortilla or bun soggy, from all the tomatoes and peppers and onions and beef drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
My family loved this! I used half a beer instead of the beef broth (I forgot to buy broth) and it came out perfectly - I will make again and stick with the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Served this to company for casual taco dinner. Just put out the trimmings and everyone can make their taco to their liking. It was huge hit! Only mod I made was I used meat with bone-in (butcher suggested). When you cook the meat on low in the crock for that long... the bone will easily fall off for you to throw away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Whoa! After moving from Arizona to Virginia we tired several mexican restaurants and nobody makes machacca beef. After several failed attempts to find a restarant that can make it, I took to the kitchen myself. I was afraid between the jalapeno, chili powder, and cumin, that this would be too spicy, but that turned out not to be the case. I followed the recipe to the letter, only omitting the oil, and it was AMAZING! Putting the meat back in the slow cooker after shredding it, is a must. Letting it cook in all those juices after shredding it really makes it special. I had a lot of juice in the crock pot in the end, so i just pulled the meat out with tongs to serve in burritos, and then used a slotted spoon to remove the left overs. We've used this several ways...burritos, tacos, nachos...always amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I made this for the recipe group selection of the week. I almost shouldn't rate this because I used a bottom round roast, but then thought I'd let everyone know it won't shred like a chuck roast will. I had to slice it instead of shredding after six hours and then put it back into the liquid on warm for about another 30 minutes. However, other than just rubbing the roast with olive oil, I followed the recipe and the flavor was wonderful. My meat was still so tender and although not real Mexican tasting it was very flavorful and juicy. We made tacos and my sons made flour tortilla wraps. You will need a slotted spoon to scoop out your meat though, a whole lot of liquid in the pot. I liked the cooked veggies on my taco. I'll probably try this one again, maybe up the spice some for more Mexican flavor. Thanks FireGuysWife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This beef was so easy to make and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Not too bad although I did cut the W sauce, lime juice and oil in half which I am glad I did as it was just sour enough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I had a Santa Maria seasoned tri tip in my freezer that had been in there for quite awhile and I decided to use it to make this. I chopped it into large chunks, then followed the rest of the recipe. It did take somewhat longer to cook to the shredding stage but the flavor was great. I can hardly wait to heat up some of the leftovers with eggs and cheese mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I use a can of enchilada sauce, omit the Worcestershire sauce, add lemon juice, a cup of pico de gallo and some cilantro during cooking and after when I shred it and toss it together. I Love love me some Machacha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Authentic flavor. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plumpy Nana Chow Chow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weed, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States