Big Ben's Beef Machaca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Wonderful recipe, super simple. Have made this 5-6 times and am planning on making it again this weekend. The hardest part is smelling it all day and knowing you have to wait 6 more hours. A couple minor changes that got the thumbs up from my family; I double the cumin, and use a poblano pepper instead of jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
My favorite Mexican restaurant in Phoenix serves great machaca, and I wanted to try to make it at home. This was close, and everyone liked it, except there was a little note of something that just didn't quite work for me. I will definitely make it again, tweaking it a bit to see if I can't fix that. Overall, though, really nice beef, moist and tender. It made great burritos. And this is exactly what machaca is supposed to be - it isn't supposed to taste like ground beef taco filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
We love this recipe. I make it with elk roast. My family likes it in burritos and tacos. I freeze the leftover for later it is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Served this to company for casual taco dinner. Just put out the trimmings and everyone can make their taco to their liking. It was huge hit! Only mod I made was I used meat with bone-in (butcher suggested). When you cook the meat on low in the crock for that long... the bone will easily fall off for you to throw away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I use a can of enchilada sauce, omit the Worcestershire sauce, add lemon juice, a cup of pico de gallo and some cilantro during cooking and after when I shred it and toss it together. I Love love me some Machacha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Not too bad although I did cut the W sauce, lime juice and oil in half which I am glad I did as it was just sour enough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Whoa! After moving from Arizona to Virginia we tired several mexican restaurants and nobody makes machacca beef. After several failed attempts to find a restarant that can make it, I took to the kitchen myself. I was afraid between the jalapeno, chili powder, and cumin, that this would be too spicy, but that turned out not to be the case. I followed the recipe to the letter, only omitting the oil, and it was AMAZING! Putting the meat back in the slow cooker after shredding it, is a must. Letting it cook in all those juices after shredding it really makes it special. I had a lot of juice in the crock pot in the end, so i just pulled the meat out with tongs to serve in burritos, and then used a slotted spoon to remove the left overs. We've used this several ways...burritos, tacos, nachos...always amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I had a Santa Maria seasoned tri tip in my freezer that had been in there for quite awhile and I decided to use it to make this. I chopped it into large chunks, then followed the rest of the recipe. It did take somewhat longer to cook to the shredding stage but the flavor was great. I can hardly wait to heat up some of the leftovers with eggs and cheese mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Authentic flavor. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plumpy Nana Chow Chow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weed, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Tastes EXACTLY like my local hole in the wall's Machaca Beef. I wasn't sure what some reviewers meant by "didn't taste very Mexican." The large amounts of cumin and oregano are tell tale signs that this dish is going to taste authentic. I know some people expect Mexican to taste one certain way, but that's like expecting bacon wrapped little smokies and boxed mac and cheese to share the same flavor profile since they are both American junkfood, right? Also, this dish is supposed to be soupy, whenever you get it at a restaurant, the beef is making the tortilla or bun soggy, from all the tomatoes and peppers and onions and beef drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States