Big Bear Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
WOW! Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I tried the recipe and used a few ideas from the previous comments including adding a can of cream of mushroom soup and some cut up celery. I added 8 ounces of water after cooking about 1-1/2 hrs. We had some fellow hunters and huntresses over for bear stew and the folks loved it. Several said it tasted lime the best beef stew they ever had. I killed my first bear last year and mostly cooked it in a crock pot with great success. Bear stew is now my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I made this stew for 2 servings, and it still made a lot. I never had bear meat before, so I didn't know what to do with it. The overtone of the flavors reminded me of a beef stew (which I don't like). This stew was good, however. It got me to want to try a different recipe with bear meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
we liked this stew, I fried the meat in a pot, so when I added water, it would get all the brown bits stuck in the pan. Since we were given this meat, not harvested by us, I was unsure how old it was and how it was prepared, so I added 1 T of vinegar to the water. This tenderizes the meat while cooking and does not leave a vinegary taste. Also added the salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
My son caught his first bear with a bow and arrow.Your recipe is great thank you very much.Last year a friend gave us some bearmeat. I soaked it in the fridge overnight in a large bowl of milk.Takes the wild ness out of it for people who don't like the wildness. Works with deer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I didn't have any bear, but beef stew meat. I needed a recipe for turnips and this is very good. I also added some whole allspice and parsnip, as well as whole pepper kernels instead of ground. I'd only suggest to add the turnips and mushrooms about 1/2hr before the end as they got rather soft. Otherwise it's very tasty, even my 15mo old enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthchickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Daughter followed essence of the recipe... substituted corn for turnips as she didn't have any turnips. Came out extremely tender. Flavors are subtle. Will use for the rest of the bear meat in the freezer and will try with turnips. Also might add tomatoes to next batch. This recipe goes straight to my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I'm sorry but I din't care for this! It was sooooo bland even after adding other spices. I added hot sauce to my bowl but my honey didn't and thought it was okay. I may make another attempt and add the cream of mushroom soup like some others did but I doubt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I added Guinness beer to the slow cooker. My husband loved it- I think I'm just not into bear meat, though I want to because we have over ten pounds in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OzsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States