Big-Batch Butterscotch Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is a great, simple brown sugar cookie. BUT, for a chewier cookie, I melt the butter instead of creaming. (This rule goes for all cookies that you want chewiness from - molasses, chocolate chip,etc). The original recipe is good, but I agree adding butterscotch chips to it turns it into a bakery quality cookie. I make mine large, bakery size (walnut size dough balls) and bake for about 13 min. I just make half the recipe too - 2 eggs, 2 1/2 cups flour, 3/4 cup melted butter) This is a great alternative for chocolate chip cookies and perfect for those who can't eat chocolate but can still get that sweet fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Great recipe! I'm not a huge fan of butterscotch cookies, but my husband is and he just loved them (as if the look on his face wasn't evidence enough). I cut the recipe in half and used one whole egg and one egg yolk. I also added a whole bag of butterscotch chips which put them over the top. I rolled them into walnut sized balls and flattened them slightly. Them came out perfectly round and slightly cracked - great looking cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This does make a LOT of cookie dough! I added a bag of butterscotch chips, and about a cup of chopped pecans as others have suggested. When I saw how much dough the recipe makes, I thought I would be there forever making individual cookies, so put everything into a greased jelly roll pan, reduced the oven temp by 25 degrees and increased baking time. Checked with a wooden toothpick for doneness. Very chewy and good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
great cookies. I just finished getting the last batch out of the oven. I tried one after it had cooled...ended up having a couple more before I was done baking them all. I was looking to give cookies to neighbors, so the size worked. I also added butterscotch chips, which made them great. I even got mine to be fluffy. Crisp on the outside and soft in the middle. 12 minutes worked great for my oven on the second from the top rack. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
In reviewing this recipe I didn't see much in the way of butterscotch going on here, so rather than struggle to make this cookie live up to its name I just worked with what I believed to be a nice cookie dough more interesting. (Butterscotch flavor, in my mind, might have meant one of more of the following ingredients: browned butter, scotch, dark brown sugar, or even butterscotch extract) I reduced this to a one egg recipe by scaling it down to 40 servings. I added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon of salt, then stirred in one cup of cinnamon chips. Cookies that have cream of tartar in the ingredients list always catch my attention because I like the cookie it produces and this one did not disappointment. It is a wonderful cookie - sort of crunchy on the outside and sort of soft on the inside - and definitely cinnamon-y with good buttery flavor. While I added cinnamon and cinnamon chips, I think other flavorings (like maple extract) or chips (chocolate,of course!) would be fine additions too. Plain or with additions, this is a good, old-fashioned cookie jar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Great recipe. Add butterscotch chips makes them even more tempting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This does make a huge batch. I took half of the batch and baked per directions, and the other half I added a bag of butterscotch chips. My father loves butterscotch and he loved these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Absolutely delicious! They turned out perfect and beautiful. I had lost my favorite old time butterscotch cookie recipe and was looking for a replacement. This worked great and the cookies are just what I wanted. I did decrease the flour a little. I made a third of a batch just to try it out and for that amount I used 1 1/3 Cups flour which would work out to 4 Cups if your making the big-batch. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I ignored my gut and didn't add any salt to this recipe and I really should have. I know it would have enhanced the flavor and brought out more sweetness. I even melted and browned the butter to enrich the flavor but the cookies still tasted flat with no hint of butterscotch flavor. They're not terrible but they're not very good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Another 5 star cookie recipe to add to our list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States