Big-Batch Butterscotch Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I ignored my gut and didn't add any salt to this recipe and I really should have. I know it would have enhanced the flavor and brought out more sweetness. I even melted and browned the butter to enrich the flavor but the cookies still tasted flat with no hint of butterscotch flavor. They're not terrible but they're not very good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Nice, picture perfect cookies that look like they come from the bakery! I followed the recipe, but added a bag of butterscotch chips as many reviewers have. I can't put my finger on it, but something seems like its missing from these ... There's nothing majorly wrong, but I think a minor change may make them a 5-star recipe. I may try to add a little bit of salt next time to cut the sweetness just a touch. I used a cookie scoop to make these and the recipe yielded 66 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
OMG! These are delicious! i added butterscotch chips and everyone in my family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hairbrush

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
i cut the recipe down to a third (1 egg, 1 stick of butter, etc). didn't realize till i'd already started mixing the ingredients that we were out of cream of tartar. in the hunt for that, i wasn't paying attention to my flour measurements. so i ended up with somewhere more than 1 3/4 cups of flour + the baking soda and powder. i realized this before i added it to the wet ingredients, and so i measured out of the combined dry ingredients around 1 3/4 cups. i then added 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips. baked for 12 minutes, and let sit on the cookie sheet for about 5 minutes. even with the dubious measurements of all the dry ingredients, and no cream of tartar, they were still pretty tasty! i'll most likely try again, with proper measurements. the butterscotch chips are a permanent addition, but i might try adding nuts next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Add 10 oz of butterscotch mini-morsels and 1 c chopped pecans. Smack the pan on the counter upon removing from the oven to slightly flatten the cookie and firm it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Novinger, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sharika
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
delicious, delicious, delicious!!! I've made this recipe 4x within the past three weeks...the cookies literally disappeared...my housemates, friends and neighbors love them!!!! I modified the recipe two ways: melted the butter, so the cookies were chewy, and added butterscotch chips....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I had high hopes for these cookies, but they were just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Excellent cookie! I followed the recipe exactly but did add in a bag of butterscotch chips. They baked in about 11 minutes and looked perfect. I will definately keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
5 Stars because I will keep this recipe! I added a full bag of butterscotch chips and a small box (3.4 oz.) dry butterscotch pudding mix. The pudding just adds a little more sweetness. I melted my butter for 1 min. in micro & my baking time was 16 min. for larger cookies than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Mmmm... nice soft cookies. I halved the recipe & added butterscotch chips I also melted the margarine. I would have liked a chewier cookie, I will try real butter next time. The butterscotch chips are a must! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hotmammacookn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Washington, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States