Big-Batch Butterscotch Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
In reviewing this recipe I didn't see much in the way of butterscotch going on here, so rather than struggle to make this cookie live up to its name I just worked with what I believed to be a nice cookie dough more interesting. (Butterscotch flavor, in my mind, might have meant one of more of the following ingredients: browned butter, scotch, dark brown sugar, or even butterscotch extract) I reduced this to a one egg recipe by scaling it down to 40 servings. I added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon of salt, then stirred in one cup of cinnamon chips. Cookies that have cream of tartar in the ingredients list always catch my attention because I like the cookie it produces and this one did not disappointment. It is a wonderful cookie - sort of crunchy on the outside and sort of soft on the inside - and definitely cinnamon-y with good buttery flavor. While I added cinnamon and cinnamon chips, I think other flavorings (like maple extract) or chips (chocolate,of course!) would be fine additions too. Plain or with additions, this is a good, old-fashioned cookie jar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
So very sweet! They were very good. I did add a bag of butterscotch chips, I feel as though that totally made the cookie! Wonderful cookies, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Newbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
love these!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
We made these cookies with our 2 year old son. The recipe is good. Gave it four stars only because it was missing the best part! LOL Butterscotch chips! We used one bag but could have used at least two bags. Yum! Cooked them for about 12 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These are fantastic! I used the ideas from many of the comments and used partially melted butter, added butterscotch chips and salt. I made large cookies from walnut-sized balls of dough, slightly pressed flat, baking them at 325. I made a full sized batch, and next time I will double the amount of butterscotch chips because one bag for a full batch is not quite enough. This is a large batch, but when making large cookies the batch goes pretty fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carrie.kindred
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These are my new favorite cookies!! I halved the recipe (used one egg + one yolk, and 2 1/4 cups flour, half of all other ingredients) and added about 2/3 cup of butterscotch chips and 1 tsp salt. They came out amazing! Soft and chewy, and just the right amount of sweetness. Thanks so much for an incredible recipe! Can't wait to share these with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie.kindred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These cookies are great - crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside. Only change I made was adding 3/4 tsp. salt. You got to give these a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I'm not really sure the cookies I made had a true butterscotch flavor, but they were still very good. After reading a few reviews, I decided to brown the butter and add some much needed salt to the dry ingredients. I made very large cookies to which I pressed a pecan half in the center while cooling. The cookies had a nice chew to them and a hint of nuttiness from the browned butter... kind of like an old-timey cookie jar staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
A good base recipe, but adding butterscotch chips and a little salt makes it a five star recipe. I scaled the amount down from 120 to 40, so I added about 1/4 tsp. of salt and 1 cup butterscotch chips. They took about 11 minutes to bake up in my oven and everybody was pleased with them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
These were just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States