Big Bad Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
We LOVED these! The burger, itself was so moist and flavorful that it almost didn't need anything else. Combined w/ the sweet mushrooms and onions (which I added a bit of salt and pepper to), and the salty bacon, this was a winning combination! I love guacamole, but I really could've left it out...it didn't hurt it at all, but I don't really think that it added anything special. I mixed up my burgers and shaped them the night before to allow the flavors to blend. I will def be making these again and again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
One bad burger is correct. I would suggest using a whole onion to make sure there is enough topping for four burgers. My husband and son kept raving about how good they were. The only thing I didn't have and this is a biggie, and my husband's fault, was the bacon. He said we had some...which we did but it was frozen solid, so I had to make without it. Like the previous review, just the burger alone is great, so even without the bacon tasted great. Thanks SarahChristine, we will make these again...with bacon of course. :-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Go ahead and double the recipe because everyone wanted two. These were fantastic! I will be saving this recipe. I added the mushroom and onion mix to the ground beef and cooked it that way. I also didn't have bacon or steak sauce. They stayed juicy. PS DONT skip the guacamole! I can see how you can leave it out if you're also topping with mushrooms and onions, but our's were IN the burger and the guacamole was fantastic on top. Then again, we live in Arizona and make it fresh daily, so our guac is probably better out here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
excellent hamburgers even without the sugar, bacon and cheese. I used gluten free bread crumbs and it made absolutely no difference in the taste. even those on a special diet can enjoy these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
DOUBLE!!! Best burger EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Not big on burgers but these were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Moist, flavorful and not heavy. I used panko bread crumbs and it worked great. Use a whole onion rather than a half. I suggest you prepare the regular burger fixings like lettuce, tomato etc. to go along with it. My kids said this was a "make again"! "make again" with a few modifications = 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This is the first review I have ever written, because the burgers are that good!! I usually don't care for burgers but I had organic ground beef and avocados to use up. Just so happened I had mushrooms too! I was a little skeptical about the sugar in the mushrooms and blending of flavors, but it was actually really good. The only thing I did not have is bacon, but it made no difference to me. I also added a little hot sauce to the burgers. This will be my go to burger recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Way to go Idaho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
WoW! These were delicious & just like you said, >>> you really did "create an explosion of flavor in every bite." I used homemade guacamole but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I cooked the burgers on medium low for 4 minutes per side. AWESOME burger & definitely going into my recipe box. Thanks for sharing SC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States