Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Nobody does it better than Kansas City. This is quality stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefDodderidge
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Way too vinegary. Tried it twice as directed (except didn't have liquid smoke) but still tasted way too much vinegar. Sauce a bit too runny also. Has potential but needs major changes. Won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Yum. Used pure maple syrup instead of molasses and crushed fresh tomatoes rather than tomato sauce. Maybe a touch too vinegary for my taste, but still delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Delicious!!! This was my first time making barbecue sauce and I have to say...it's better than any bottled sauce!! Will make it again for sure!!! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
For the 4th, we smoked chicken parts and country-style ribs (after using a KC dry rub) and then finished them off with this sauce. We stuck to the recipe exactly, and our guests were asking for a taste while it was simmering because the aroma was unbelievable. We cooked it for about an hour, and it turned out thick and delicious. We just used some of the leftover sauce for some pulled chicken, and the flavor was even better. No more bottled sauce for us since we'll be using this as our go-to BBQ sauce. Thanks Al!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This is by far the best sauce I have ever had. I make it constantly, for everything,Thank You for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This is an awesome BBQ Sauce! I made a half batch (24 servings) to try this out on some grilled chicken and pork ribs. I didn't have tomato sauce on hand, so I used 3 ounces of tomato paste and 1 cup of water. Otherwise I made as directed. Simmered about 30 minutes stirring often to get to my desired thickness. I am thinking of making the full recipe the next time, but am uncertain how long this will store in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This sauce is absolutely delicious. I used it for some pork ribs I was preparing, and it just completed the dish. I think I just cried a little. Yes it is that good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Good, but maybe a little less vinegar next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cari Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
My family makes me triple the recipe to have leftovers to keep in the fridge. I won't use anything else after trying this fantastic sauce. Here's an easy idea: shread chicken breast, add sauce and you have an instant sandwich. My son thinks this is the most amazing thing and it is the easiest ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 934) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States