Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
We LOVE this recipe--I keep it mostly as written, yet we don't use ketchup as it is full of high fructose corn syrup. Instead, I add one can of drained, diced, chili-ready tomatoes and onions, and a 14.5 0z can of tomato sauce, blend all in blender or food processor, and then put in a crock so it can simmer all day as the meat smokes. It is thick, and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by headoverfeet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This was so yummy. I had to use half balsamic vinegar because I ran out of the red wine vinegar but still it is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is my first time making BBQ sauce and I am glad I did. Made this recipe exactly as written, except I added 1/2 tsp dried mustard, only 1/3 cup mollasses, and 3 teaspoons of liquid smoke because my husband and I aren't big on strong smokey taste. This is a nice taste of tomato/sweet/spicy/smoky/tangy goodness. I will make this again, but next time I will add only 2 tsp. liquid smoke as I think this would be good for our taste. VERY YUMMY...thx for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
VERY GOOD!!! WILL MAKE IT AGAIN AND AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Nobody does it better than Kansas City. This is quality stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefDodderidge
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Way too vinegary. Tried it twice as directed (except didn't have liquid smoke) but still tasted way too much vinegar. Sauce a bit too runny also. Has potential but needs major changes. Won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Yum. Used pure maple syrup instead of molasses and crushed fresh tomatoes rather than tomato sauce. Maybe a touch too vinegary for my taste, but still delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Delicious!!! This was my first time making barbecue sauce and I have to say...it's better than any bottled sauce!! Will make it again for sure!!! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
For the 4th, we smoked chicken parts and country-style ribs (after using a KC dry rub) and then finished them off with this sauce. We stuck to the recipe exactly, and our guests were asking for a taste while it was simmering because the aroma was unbelievable. We cooked it for about an hour, and it turned out thick and delicious. We just used some of the leftover sauce for some pulled chicken, and the flavor was even better. No more bottled sauce for us since we'll be using this as our go-to BBQ sauce. Thanks Al!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This is by far the best sauce I have ever had. I make it constantly, for everything,Thank You for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 908) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States