Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I LOOOOOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!! All my family and friends consider me the Best Cook they've ever known and they always rave over my food. So, I know a good recipe when I see one. I have made this BBQ Sauce a few times for my family and we love it. I recently made this recipe (doubled) for SuperBowl and it was a hit!!! Everyone kept complimenting me on the ribs and couldn't stop licking their fingers. The ingredients are a perfect combination of sweetness with a touch of spiciness that's not too overwhelming. Some asked if they could take extra food home because it was so good. I brought leftovers to work and I received more compliments. I made this recipe as is and it was PERFECT! This is a keeper in my house. Thanks again Big Al for sharing such a tasty, delicious , finger-licking good recipe.:)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy022

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Living in Sweden, it is difficult to get molasses and celery seeds, but I used dark treacle and just omitted the celery seeds. I added a bit more cinnamon than was in the recipe, but the end result was wonderful. I cooked it till it thickened and we have used it for ribs and chicken. I even tried it on a cheese sandwich- lovely! This is now a family favourite! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I have made this sauce (a dbl. batch) at least four times for our family reunions. They love it and ask for it every time we get together. I would like to visit Big Al's restaurant if this is any indication of the food he serves. I follow the recipe exactly as written. This sauce keeps very well in the refrigerator...so there's no need to worry if there's extra left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
WOW! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
The best bar-b-q sauce ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzNicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
We thought this was awesome! Made it and poured it over boneless ribs in the crockpot. Easy, no fuss recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I thought this was pretty good bbq sauce. I will definitely make it when I need bbq sauce for recipes. I made 12 servings instead of the 48. I used all of the ingredients but the liquid smoke. I may try that next time, just to see the difference. I made it for chicken, but would like to try it with some pulled pork. What is good about this bbq sauce is it is both vinegary yet sweet at the same time. So, I think it would suit many people's taste. Thank you, for the recipe, Al.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I want to thank everyone for the great comments. This is one of many sauce recipes I have created over the years. I have simplified many, and yet the taste is better than ever. I will post many soon. If anyone wants on my recipe mailing list please contact me at alanneila at Y dot com. I will be happy to share recipes and ideas. Alan Arthur
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan Arthur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarion, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I put this in the slow cooker with cooked turkey and let it go on slow for several hours. It tastes just like pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holly, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Great sauce, but it was a bit too sweet for our taste so next time i'll cut that down a bit on the brown sugar. But this is now going to my favorite bbq sauce from now one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 141-150 (of 907) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States