Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I'ved try this recipe and it has been the hit of my bbq's, many people have asked for the secret recipe. This mine mine,i throw this bbq sauce on everything. I tweak it just a little, my jerk chicken, bbq ribs, pork chops so forth and so on, also i just got the hang of smoking lv it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Awesome. Used the sauce on a smoked beef brisket. Coated both side when I hit 160 degrees and wrapped in tin foil. I placed in oven till internal temperature reached 200. Let rest an hour. Best tasting brisket ever. This sauce made it turn out so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and it is just incredibly sweet and not very impressive. Given the amount of brown sugar and molasses I should have realized that. Would not make again and not sure what to do with my half gallon of sauce now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Hahn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Really, really loved this sauce! It was easy to make and I had all of the ingredients on hand. Used it on some baby back ribs and wish I had made more of it! No more bottled sauce for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atbarber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I think this sauce is very good! I scaled the recipe to 24 servings and that gave me around 3 cups of sauce. I will definitely use this for all my barbeque dishes. Using 24 servings, I kept the 1 cup each of ketchup and tomato sauce, but opted for 1/4 heaping cup of brown sugar, 1/4 cup red wine vinegar, 1/4 cup molasses, 4-5 Tbsp liquid smoke, 1 tsp each of garlic and onion powders, 1 heaping Tbsp each of chili powder and smoked paprika, 1/2 tsp celery seed, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 to 1 tsp cayenne, and 1/2 cup water. I simmered this for about 45-50 minutes and it delivered just the right amount of sweetness and spice for my taste. I paired this with homemade Coffee and Bullion Pulled Beef and Chef John's French Fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Rarely do I give reviews, but this recipe is AWESOME!! Reminds me of KC style Bar-B-Q.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zepriderr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Troutdale, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This stuff is soooo good. I use it all the time and I have for 2 years now. I serve it on pulled pork at family get togethers and everyone loves it. AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Delicious! This will be the one and only sauce I make from now on. I used home made pasta sauce for the tomato sauce and did not add the liquid smoke, mustard seed instead of celery seed as that is what I had on hand with a dash of celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Great recipe! My family loves store bought BBQ sauce, but I strongly dislike the ingredient list. This is the first BBQ sauce that they actually liked better than store bought. Yah! The changes I made because of personal preference is as follows: I used maple syrup instead of brown sugar, eliminated the liquid smoke (until I can find natural liquid smoke), reduced the cayenne and the black pepper to 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Great sauce. I've finally found the perfect BBQ sauce. I added more cayenne pepper but that's pretty much a personal touch depending on one's taste. It's definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 934) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States