Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Ridiculously amazing. I've made tons of BBQ sauces but never could get that restaurant taste to it. This sauce tastes just like your favorite bbq joint's sauce! I added a little more cayenne pepper and added some chipotle tobasco sauce to heat it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Pruitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dgoodgirlr33
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Great! Recipe, I used everything except celery seed & red pepper. Tip: I used a hand mixer to mix all ingredients well before cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dgoodgirlr33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharda Lewis
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I just got through making this sauce and it is delicious. After reading the reviews I did use some of the suggestions. I only used 1 cup of ketchup. 1 cup of brown sugar. 1/4 cup of molasses. I added more garlic an onion powder cause I like garlicky sauces. I tasted the sauce through out stirring and even tasted it with my ribs I made from this site. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Slow-Cooker-Baby-Back-Ribs/?prop31=2 They came out perfect. My first time in a long time making ribs. Now they are cooking in the oven to give it that caramelized glaze. I swear with the taste of this sauce and the tenderness of this meat you would think your in a BBQ joint. A really good one. Only sauce I will be making from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharda Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Omg! Low fat! Nearly zero fat and packed with FLAVOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Perfect marriage of bite, tang, and sweet. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
this sauce is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefbenjamin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coldwater, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
For those of you out there that don't want to use Liquid smoke because it tastes artificial. Here is what I did. I have an old kettle charcoal grill. I had some Applewood Chunks left over from a Pork Butt that I made a few weeks ago, so I decided to try something different. Instead of cooking this sauce down on the stove I decided to fire up the grill and light up a few chunks of Applewood. Put the sauce in my cast iron dutch oven and put the cover on my kettle. I then smoked the sauce while it simmered down. It came out perfect. No artificial flavor. The applewood creates an awesome flavor to this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Tried this tonight - delicious! Big hit. We didn't have liquid smoke or celery seed, but it was still delicious. Will use this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Oh my word !! This is awesome!!! It's on the stove right now and MAN! Sooo good! Thank you so much for the recipe! It's going on tomorrow nights ribs YUM! Can't wait. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by live2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Used Worcester shire sauce instead of liquid smoke because we were doing the ribs & chicken thighs on the grill with wood chips. After checking reviews, used peanut oil instead of butter (for table time) & left out celery seed. GREAT!! To answer one re viewer's question: back when it was do hard to find all natural foods, I had a young son who has hyper kinetic & could not tolerate additives, preservatives, artificial floors & colors, etc. He wanted ketchup for hot fries & burgers like his older brother so I tried to make some. Close but no cigar -- uuntil I found a recipe in a really old cookbook I picked up in a used book store (already really old when i got it back in the'70 lol). The one ingredient that makes ketchup taste like ketchup is -- tahdah!) Cinnamon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 904) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States