Big Al's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Delicious recipe! Two changes though: I used a teaspoon of salt instead of a tablespoon. Also, the recipe suggests using reserved marinade to flavor the cooked chicken - this is something I wouldn't suggest due to it containing raw eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I don't know if I did something wrong but this wasn't very good. I ended up doubling all the ingredients for the marinade ((since it seemed like it wouldn't be enough)) and I was only able to marinate the drumsticks I had for about 8 hours. But the flavor was so tangy. Maybe I am just not a fan of vinegar....or I just wasn't sure what to expect ((I don't ever use it...)) No one really complained about it but they didn't ask me to make it again either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D89BUTTONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Very good and easy recipe. You'll find you have most/all of these ingredients on hand! I did feel it made too much sauce so next time I'll cut down on the sauce ingredients. Very good though and I'll make it again... Gotta love slow cooking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV_2_B_MUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I love this recipe. It's my husband's favorite chicken recipe. I do make some changes, however. 1) I always use 1 egg instead of the egg substitute. I believe the egg is absolutely necessary to make the marinade "stick" to the chicken. 2) I use chicken thighs WITH the skin on. When I pan fry these, the skin creates a flavorful crust that is keeps the meat even more most than normal and 3) I agree with the others that 1 TBS of salt is a bit much so I cut it down to 1/2 TBS. This also freezes beautifully. If you can, marinate this overnight. I have made this at varying "marination" times. The flavor is 100% more pleasing when it's marinated overnight. Oh, and these freeze beautifully! Thank you Al!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Very good flavor! Marinated overnight. Thanks for a new way to use up my poultry seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
A very good marinade for chicken thighs! I made it exactly as directed and marinated it overnight. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
yummy yummy in our tummies! i only used 1 teaspoon salt instead of a tablespoon. didn't change anything else. i turned it several times, as chicken will burn on the grill. i marinated about 20 hours....turned out really good. thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
With all the high ratings I was expecting a lot more. This marinade made the chicken moist but we thought it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I have been using this recipe since I first found it about 1 yr ago.I marinade chicken drumsticks(10 to 15)bone in, over night then I pop the whole thing in the oven (about 1 1/2hrs)to cook and just before it's done,I sprinkle seasoning salt on and Bbq to finish.It is so tender and tastes fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This is now a staple in my meal planning. This marinade is quick and easy to make and never fails. The only ingredient I don't keep on hand is egg substitute, so I have used one egg and it's turned out the same. I've served this for company and always end up sharing the recipe. This is our favorite chicken marinade. I like it best on thighs, but breasts work well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

How to Grill Chicken Better

Get tips for prepping and grilling crusty, juicy chicken.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States