Big Al's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I am really, really surprised by the high ratings for this marinade. I used the ingredients list faithfully (which I don't always do - I did use an egg instead of the egg substitute however) and found the resulting dish extraordinarily greasy. Yikes! I am not someone who normally minds grease, but this was outrageously greasy because of all of that oil. Otherwise, the flavor was fine - a little bland, but fine. I am going to try this again, but this time only using a 1/4 cup of oil. Hopefully it'll be better. I found this recipe, btw, because I am on the low-carb diet, and I do have to say that at least it is low-carb, which is a bonus. Many marinades are stuffed with sugar and honey, and this marinade does not have that, which I appreciated. Hence me being willing to try this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HavaLyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I used a real egg, followed exactly otherwise. Made in the oven broiler as the BBQ is snowed under. To be honest the recipe smelled very unappetizing while cooking and even after it was done, but it tasted very good! I'll make it again when I can use the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was pretty good. I eliminated the egg and next time I will half the poultry seasoning. Very good taste, not vinegary at all. I believe I overcooked the chicken, next time I will be more careful so it will be more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I used chicken breasts instead of thighs and marinaded overnight before grilling that afternoon... AWE-SOME!!!! Can't wait to try this marinade on something else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Very good! I used 1 tsp of salt, based on other reviews. Doubled the recipe for 10 chicken thighs, but I don't really think I needed to. Nice and juicy, even with 15 minutes extra grilling time (20 minutes didn't seem like enough time, so hubby used a meat thermometer and it took him 15 extra minuted to get chicken to well done stage). Guests enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, New York, USA
Living In: Romulus, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This chicken recipe was just perfect. I'm glad I read the reviews about 1tsp of salt instead of 1tbsp because it was delicious with 1tsp. I marinaded for about 18 hours then grilled the thighs for about twenty minutes, minding the fire all the time, because it really was flaring up with the oil. I make mustard potato salad, corn on the cob ranch style beans and venison sausage along with the chicken on Easter Sunday and everything was deeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was just okay for us. It was juicy and tender, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
A-MAZ-ZING!!! This tastes JUST LIKE the Bertucci's Tuscan Wings. I even asked a waiter at Bertucci's for their marinade recipe years ago, tried it at home and nope, that was not it. But Big Al's Chicken is EXACTLY it and it's completely different from what the Bertucci's waiter gave me. Obviously theirs was a closely guarded secret, but no more! Big Al got it right. This is a new favorite grilled chicken recipe, and I'm going to try it on wings next. Did not change a thing and only marinated it for 2 hours. Can't imagine how fantastic this must be after marinating for 8 hours. Thanks Al!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I only had time to marinade for about 3 or 4 hours and it was still tender and delicious. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Great recipe works great in smoker apple and pecan wood Its great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

How to Grill Chicken Better

Get tips for prepping and grilling crusty, juicy chicken.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States