Big Al's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
Love this recipe! The marinade made the chicken very moist and tender. I didn't have the egg substitute so I did not add any, however the finished results was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Al, this recipe is awesome! I used a real egg, but that was the only change. To other users, don't leave out the egg - it acts as an emulsifier, so your marinade doesn't separate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
awesome marinade! used split chicken breasts.ive had 3 people call and ask me for the recipe!!! cant wait to use it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
We loved this chicken with its tangy flavour. Easy and tasty. The one problem, as others noted, was that it was way too salty. Next time I will make it with 1 teaspoon instead of 1 tablespoon of salt. I wish I read the reviews first. I might also try to cut back on the oil as well just to cut the fat and the near fire in the bbq. Otherwise really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
EXCELLENT recipe... the combination of simple spices is very complimentary to chicken, and it keeps the meat moist. Seems like my chicken tends to get dry on the grill, but not this time! I marinated for almost 24 hours & it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
Great recipe! I must admit I didn't follow it to the letter though. We were too hungry to wait so I didn't bother to marinate the chicken, instead I cooked it in a 475 degree oven for around 30-40 minutes. I used Sherry Wine vinegar instead of apple cider and didn't use the egg substitute either (I'm not sure why you would anyway). I used boneless skinless thighs and they were so tender and tasty. I wish I would have made a bigger batch for leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I love this recipe. It's my husband's favorite chicken recipe. I do make some changes, however. 1) I always use 1 egg instead of the egg substitute. I believe the egg is absolutely necessary to make the marinade "stick" to the chicken. 2) I use chicken thighs WITH the skin on. When I pan fry these, the skin creates a flavorful crust that is keeps the meat even more most than normal and 3) I agree with the others that 1 TBS of salt is a bit much so I cut it down to 1/2 TBS. This also freezes beautifully. If you can, marinate this overnight. I have made this at varying "marination" times. The flavor is 100% more pleasing when it's marinated overnight. Oh, and these freeze beautifully! Thank you Al!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
This recipies had a nice flavor and I will make it again, but it was WAAAAY too salty. I actually thought I added too much salt by mistake, but then I looked again and it calls for a tablespoon of salt, I will at least cut that in half if not skip it altogether next time. But my husband and I both agreed that I should try it again, with less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fennville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
This was the best chicken marinade I have ever eaten! My husband and I loved it. The chicken was juicy and had a nice color to it. We will definately be making this again. Michelle & Family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
This is a good one! So good that when I got home to eat there was NONE left..had to make it again so I can have some! This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMENAIDE

Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

How to Grill Chicken Better

Get tips for prepping and grilling crusty, juicy chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States