Bifana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
we loved it. My husband asked me to bookmark this so I could cook it for our guests. after the chutney is made the rest is quick and easy! my advice would be to cook the chutney early (a day or a few hours)and put it away until the time you do the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
Wow! This is really good. I had to cook the pork a little longer than instructed because I didn’t allow extra time for the basting. The temperature was right on though, I used a thermometer and it turned out beautifully. Thank you for sharing this recipe. -LNP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
My family really enjoyed this. All the different spices mixed well with the pork. I'm definitly keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This is fantastic--so good! I made it for Father's Day several years ago for a pork-loving father, and now it's a tradition. My mother makes it almost every large dinner party she's hosted. I serve it with couscous with golden raisins and green onions and a green salad. It is a huge hit with everyone that tastes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I'd love to give the recipe 5 stars but the presentation with the cooked rhubarb on top just didn't look very good. The taste, however, was definitely a keeper, so I think I'll roast the seasoned/seared pork tenderloin until done and then serve the spiced rhubarb sauce on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This was great thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
This was really good. My father-in-law and husband both loved it. I added a bit of salt to the chutney though. Very simple. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
This really appealed to me. I used pork loin chops instead of tenderloin, I only used half the rhubarb and added butternut squash that I had half way roasted, peeled and cubed. I deleted the raisins. I also changed the cooking method a bit. I made the chutney as instructed (added the squash also) but I only browned the chops about two minutes on each side then I poured the chutney into a casserole and nesteled the chops into the mixture. I then covered and baked at 350 for 30 minutes. I would decrease the cloves next time and decrease the sugar a bit, maybe even increase the cumin some. Overall it was a delightful mixture of flavors and I would certainly make again with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
Delicious--we love pork tenderloins, and generally I cook them with a rosemary/thyme rub. This was a great change. It's an easy meal with a little planning. I used frozen rhubarb (from my garden)--I'm very glad to have found another use for rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
This is a recipe that my whole family loves. We have made this several times and find it's a great way to compliment pork (or chicken, duck, etc.) prepared almost any way. Don't be afraid to try it, you won't be dissapointed. Thanks for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States