Bifana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Wow! This recipe is flawless. The only thing I changed was I subbed the garlic powder for fresh garlic. Also, the recipe doesn't say to cover the pork. Do cover it as it will take forever to cook otherwise. Awesome recipe and I will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
So yummy, you're gonna want seconds. Sweet with warm spicy accents. Had to make some modifications because I couldn't find rhubarb in store. Substituted fresh cranberries instead and worked perfectly. Also used ground ginger instead of fresh, and omitted raisins -- still turned out great. The flavors in the chutney worked perfectly with pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I wasn't as wild about this as a lot of people were. Like some others, I substituted cranberries for the rhubarb. I thought it made a lot of chutney--think that part could have been cut in half. (I've been trying to find ways to use up the leftover chutney--I was surprised to find it's really tasty just mixed with some plain yogurt; also good mixed in chicken salad.) My husband, who is sensitive to smells didn't like the strong vinegar smell of the chutney cooking. The chutney tasted fine, though, not too vinegar-y. It was a little tart, though, so I added orange juice and apple sauce to sweeten it up. I put the pork in a brine of water, salt and sugar for about an hour and a half before I cooked it--not sure how much it helped, but the pork was pretty tender. I think I prefer a simpler pork--I found the very strong taste of the chutney overpowered the meat, but that's probably a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Fantabulous recipe! I just cooked it tonight for the first time and it got raves all the way around the table. A few alterations I made: I prefer to cook the tenderloin to 140 degrees instead of 155, it's a safe temperature and so much more succulent that way. Before I cook the pork I soak it in a Ziploc for an hour in six cups of water with 3/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup table salt. Instead of rhubarb, I used fresh cranberries in the chutney. And I paired the tenderloin with mango couscous, and a bowl of pan-fried bok choy and collard greens in a coconut-milk cream sauce. Holy Mahoney it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is my husband's favorite dish I make!! If it were up to him, we'd have it once a week. It makes the house smell delicious. I cook it with a mixture of strawberries and mango instead of the rhubarb and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I followed recipe exactly and it was wonderful!!! Would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I substituted red wine vinegar for the cider vinegar and omitted the ginger because I didn't have them in the house. My husband thought it was great and we should save the recipie - which is saying a lot because he is not a fan of recipes that include cinnamon. My 3 year old didn't even seem fazed by the red pepper (I used ground, not flakes). I thought it was good and easy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This was pretty easy to make. My husband enjoyed it but my son didn't really dig the rhubarb. Which is suprising because he eats everything. It had a good flavor and was "different."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSHY1127

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
wonderful. easy to prepare and my boyfriend and i just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
ChrisB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States