Bierrocks II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I LOVE this recipe although I use store bought flaky biscuits to save time. I roll out the biscuits with a little flour, scoop filling in the center use a little water to help pinch edges together and then seal with a fork. Mine look more like an empanada. Bake for about 20 mins. Half way through I coat with butter and then again when I take them out. 1 lb of ground beef makes about 10 biscuits. Each person usually eats 2 each. Reheats nicely the next day in the toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beans
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Think this was good. Slight variations that I used were ground turkey and frozen dinner roll bread instead of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was my first time making and eating bierrocks. They were delicious! I found it difficult to roll out the bread dough, but it was certainly worth the effort. I substituted Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage for the ground beef and then added the salt and pepper to taste, using less than 1/2 tsp. of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Really tasty! I searched two stores and could not find the frozen bread dough so I made my own dough using the "Honey-wheat sandwich rolls" recipe on this site. It made 12 good size portions with plenty of stuffing for each roll. I accidently used a full pound of ground beef rather than 1/2 LB. I think this recipe would have been even better if I had used the amount stated. The cabbage seemed to be lost in the mixture but that was MY mistake, not the recipe. Next time, I WILL use only the 1/2 LB ground beef. I did add chopped, fresh garlic to the mixture. I like the idea another reviewer said, to add shredded carrot which I will add next time around. I prepared my bierrocks earlier in the day and placed them in the fridge to cook later and they still turned out great. Before baking, I brushed with melted butter/garlic powder mixture. Very good meal! Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Where is the dough recipe? would rate it higher with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
We really like this recipe. Even the kids, who usually don't like anything with cabbage in it, ate these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Sipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Takes a long time to prepare, but it is so YUMMY! I did add a few extra spices to make it have a little zip to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great! My grandma from Russia used to fix this for us. I've been looking for this recipe for years. Thank you Laurel. I just added worchestire and dried oregano. Sprinkled w/ paprika. Yummy! Judes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Very good! After living in Toronto and Montreal for 10 years, hard to live in a small region! I had to make this with pizza dough since it's all they had at my local grocery store. It was good, but I know it would be better with bread. Will make again for sure, whole family loved this! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Corsilli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is a solid recipe for me flavorwise, however the men in my life realy loved it so I'll be making it again. I spiced up the beef a bit before cooking. If I hadn't, I can't imagine that this would have had enough flavor (just me, I LOVE spice, it's a Texas thing). I also had problems with my dough. Next time I will go with something other than frozen bread dough. The dough would not cooperate! Make sure to buy extra frozen bread dough if you decide to make it with that: it will take two 1-lb loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States