Bierrocks II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Beans
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Think this was good. Slight variations that I used were ground turkey and frozen dinner roll bread instead of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was my first time making and eating bierrocks. They were delicious! I found it difficult to roll out the bread dough, but it was certainly worth the effort. I substituted Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage for the ground beef and then added the salt and pepper to taste, using less than 1/2 tsp. of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Really tasty! I searched two stores and could not find the frozen bread dough so I made my own dough using the "Honey-wheat sandwich rolls" recipe on this site. It made 12 good size portions with plenty of stuffing for each roll. I accidently used a full pound of ground beef rather than 1/2 LB. I think this recipe would have been even better if I had used the amount stated. The cabbage seemed to be lost in the mixture but that was MY mistake, not the recipe. Next time, I WILL use only the 1/2 LB ground beef. I did add chopped, fresh garlic to the mixture. I like the idea another reviewer said, to add shredded carrot which I will add next time around. I prepared my bierrocks earlier in the day and placed them in the fridge to cook later and they still turned out great. Before baking, I brushed with melted butter/garlic powder mixture. Very good meal! Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambam
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Where is the dough recipe? would rate it higher with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
We really like this recipe. Even the kids, who usually don't like anything with cabbage in it, ate these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Sipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Takes a long time to prepare, but it is so YUMMY! I did add a few extra spices to make it have a little zip to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great! My grandma from Russia used to fix this for us. I've been looking for this recipe for years. Thank you Laurel. I just added worchestire and dried oregano. Sprinkled w/ paprika. Yummy! Judes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Very good! After living in Toronto and Montreal for 10 years, hard to live in a small region! I had to make this with pizza dough since it's all they had at my local grocery store. It was good, but I know it would be better with bread. Will make again for sure, whole family loved this! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Corsilli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is a solid recipe for me flavorwise, however the men in my life realy loved it so I'll be making it again. I spiced up the beef a bit before cooking. If I hadn't, I can't imagine that this would have had enough flavor (just me, I LOVE spice, it's a Texas thing). I also had problems with my dough. Next time I will go with something other than frozen bread dough. The dough would not cooperate! Make sure to buy extra frozen bread dough if you decide to make it with that: it will take two 1-lb loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I'm from German decent and my mom used to make these also, but she made them filled with sauerkraut and caraway seeds and ones with potato and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States