Bierock Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Wow thanks! MY grandma used to make Bierocks for us when we were kids but I am seldom in the mood to make the dough and assemble them! This tastes just as good, is MUCH less mess and makes a bigger batch! I did season my beef with my favorite steak seasoning and garlic pepper but not too much. I wanted to make sure the sauerkraut shined through. I drained my sauerkraut but did not rinse it, I LOVE the taste of sauerkraut! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth James, Midwest Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
It was very good! I added sausage, also. And lots of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Used luv2cook's suggestions and altered the recipe accordingly. We did enjoy it but felt it could use more flavor. I will make this again but I am going to use the saurecraut in place of the fresh cabbage and use more seasonings in the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe really helped me mix up the casseroles that I try to make on Sundays. It was very easy and I added a ton of seasoning and some mixed veggies and it really completed the meal for us. I also took the suggestion of adding the cheese to the inside of the dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherMelton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
liked it better using chopped cabbage and adding a can of cream of mushroom soup, also a sprinkling of cayenne pepper, but the sauerkraut was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was pretty good. Instead of using ground beef I used a shredded beef roast that I slow cooked all day first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I was looking for a good venison recipe. This fit the bill, although I modified it by adding a 27 oz can of kraut which I chopped up a bit and 8 oz of cream cheese. I originally had planned on adding sour cream, since this is a Polish recipe, but I had the cream cheese on hand. I think it would have been too thin had I used the sour cream. Also, next time, I plan on just trying a regular pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMACRI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly and then realized that the cheese probably should have gone inside the casserole instead of on top. The flavor was good, so I'll most likely make it again that way instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This recipes was good. I did make some minor changes, though. I did not squeeze the kraut dry, I let it simmer with the beef mixture for a few minutes to reduce the the liquid. I also used pizza dough rather than crescents, wich gave the dish a chewier texture and less "chemical" taste that crescents can have. Next time I might try a more coarsley ground beef, or possibly even pork. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
It was very easy and turned out great, next time though i think ill mix some plain cabbage in with the can of sauerkraut, because it was a bit too vinegary for my taste.Good when you need dinner in a hurry. Oh and I made it healthier by substituting beef with Yves Brand ground beef substitute, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States