Bianca's Green Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Simply amazing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Excellent recipe! I roasted the bell peppers first and peeled the skin then chopped them, added 3 cloves of garlic (minced) and a 2 tablespoons of lime juice. Instead of letting it simmer in the pan I moved it into my crock pot and set it on high for 2 1/2 hours. My entire family loved it! I'll be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I have made this recipe several times and followed the instruction exactly. It is a wonderful and very tasty dish. My husband doesn’t usually like cilantro, and with it cooked down, it wasn’t overpowering. He even liked it. We eat this with Spanish rice and homemade pinto beans. The meat is very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
TASTES FLAT - SOMETHING MISSING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mom
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I just made this tonight and it turned out great. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemmn15

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This recipe is one of this family's favorites! It's a bit mild for us as written, so I usually add a bit of jalepeno pepper for some extra kick. It smells great while cooking, freezes beautifully, and makes my husband happy every time I serve it. Yay Bianca! You've got a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyrd Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
the flavor was bland and i was expecting it to be thicker. i could hardly taste the chiles. i guess i was hoping for it to taste like my favorite green chile pork at my fav restaurant. i'll keep looking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This is superb!! I added 3 finely chopped Serrano peppers with seeds for a little heat. The chiles basically cook into the stew so it's not as hot as you might expect. Next time, I might even put more in. We loved it served with tortillas. Be prepared, though, because the pork shoulder is a real pain to trim and cube but it tastes great. Next time, I think I will at least get a boneless pork butt to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was really good! A bit of a variation from the green chile pork I've had before in that it was a bit sweet and tangy. Alterations I made: used chicken broth instead of water (next time, will only put a pinch of salt if I do this again as it was a little salty - and I like salt). I didn't have enough cooking sherry, so I used half cooking wine and half rice wine vinegar. (I think the cooking wine made it come out a little sweet.) I also only used 2 green peppers, but would probably increase this next time. I worried it would overpower the rest of it, but they just melt into nothing and work well with the rest. Overall, a really simple and great dish. The pork came out super tender. Will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was pretty good - though you have to take my rating with a pinch of salt. I didn't have a can of green chilies (dang hubby used them when I wasn't looking!), so I chopped up a couple of Thai Dragons from my garden - wasn't enough. Also, my cilantro has died with the seasonal cold, so I used dried. I had less meat, so cooked shorter. If hubby had gotten home earlier, the meat would have been perfectly tender - but it went a bit longer (on a lower temp) and dried out a bit, though still fairly moist. On the whole, this is worth trying again, but I'll want to make a few changes - and I should have topped with sour cream! (Didn't have it on hand.) --- OH! And I also served this as a "stew" rather than in tortillas. Might have made a difference??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John’s Pork al Latte

Pork is simmered in crème fraiche and broth until impossibly tender.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States