Bianca's Green Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Wow! Thank you, Bianca. I've been making this for three years and doubling the recipe. As a result, our kids think I make amazing Mexican food. The first two years I started with braised pork shoulder, and this became one of our favorite family recipes for Sunday dinners. This year our method has changed. We grill twice as many pork chops with rub the night before and dice up the leftover chops the second night. I add them after Bianca's mix has cooked for 2.5 hours. Our family loves to use any leftover pork and green chilies on eggs/tortillas for breakfast. This recipe gets better each with each meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Simply amazing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Sweets Melgar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Excellent recipe! I roasted the bell peppers first and peeled the skin then chopped them, added 3 cloves of garlic (minced) and a 2 tablespoons of lime juice. Instead of letting it simmer in the pan I moved it into my crock pot and set it on high for 2 1/2 hours. My entire family loved it! I'll be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I have made this recipe several times and followed the instruction exactly. It is a wonderful and very tasty dish. My husband doesn’t usually like cilantro, and with it cooked down, it wasn’t overpowering. He even liked it. We eat this with Spanish rice and homemade pinto beans. The meat is very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
TASTES FLAT - SOMETHING MISSING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mom
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I just made this tonight and it turned out great. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemmn15

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This recipe is one of this family's favorites! It's a bit mild for us as written, so I usually add a bit of jalepeno pepper for some extra kick. It smells great while cooking, freezes beautifully, and makes my husband happy every time I serve it. Yay Bianca! You've got a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyrd Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
the flavor was bland and i was expecting it to be thicker. i could hardly taste the chiles. i guess i was hoping for it to taste like my favorite green chile pork at my fav restaurant. i'll keep looking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This is superb!! I added 3 finely chopped Serrano peppers with seeds for a little heat. The chiles basically cook into the stew so it's not as hot as you might expect. Next time, I might even put more in. We loved it served with tortillas. Be prepared, though, because the pork shoulder is a real pain to trim and cube but it tastes great. Next time, I think I will at least get a boneless pork butt to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was really good! A bit of a variation from the green chile pork I've had before in that it was a bit sweet and tangy. Alterations I made: used chicken broth instead of water (next time, will only put a pinch of salt if I do this again as it was a little salty - and I like salt). I didn't have enough cooking sherry, so I used half cooking wine and half rice wine vinegar. (I think the cooking wine made it come out a little sweet.) I also only used 2 green peppers, but would probably increase this next time. I worried it would overpower the rest of it, but they just melt into nothing and work well with the rest. Overall, a really simple and great dish. The pork came out super tender. Will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Chef John's Pork al Latte

Pork is simmered in crème fraiche and broth until impossibly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States